Rebel Cowboy by Nicole Helm #Review

Posted January 21, 2016 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 18 Comments

Tags: , , ,

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Rebel Cowboy by Nicole Helm #Review
Rebel Cowboy

 Stars

Series: #1 Big Sky Cowboys
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Released on January 5, 2016
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
add to goodreads

DNF at Chapter 3  Will return to this one later.

Montana, ranch life, a hockey player turned cowboy, and a strong woman.  Sounded superb to me!

However, I did three chapters of two people sniping at each other for no reason other than they had some preconceived notions about what the other should be and a resistance to attraction.

Normally, I give a book some more time to show me it has more.  And I will, but at the moment, I am in the mood to smack both protagonists and walk off in a huff.  Sooo, I’ll wait until I’m in a different mood to give this pair a chance to get over it since I see some real potential for a strong, engaging story with her background and his playing into it.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
18 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Blodeuedd
4 years ago

It did sound superb

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Blodeuedd

I thought so, too. Maybe later.

Christy LoveOfBooks
4 years ago

That’s too bad. I love antagonistic relationships, but sounds like maybe they started out too hard.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

Yeah, she jumped all over him from the second he opened his door and all he did was open his door. And she kept at it all because he was a hockey player and came to Montana to fix up his family’s ranch and needed a bit of help figuring stuff out so he hired her for help. Wonder if he paid extra for the pissy attitude. 🙂

Quinn's Book Nook
4 years ago

I’m having a similar issue with another book I am reading. The hero and heroine are sniping at each other constantly, and then the heroine just did something RIDICULOUS and immature and not something I could ever see a 32 year old ever doing. So I’m not sure I want to jump back in.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

That’s just it. Too far and too much. I’ll wait until I have more patience, but as you say, do I even want to try? We’ll see. 🙂

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
4 years ago

I’ll add my smack to yours Sophia Rose, good luck on your next try!

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Thanks, Debbie! Sometimes, I’m just not in the mood for cranky people. 🙂

Anna@herding cats&burning soup

She was a trial early on. Hopefully next time it’ll go a little better for ya. 🙂

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

Yeah, I need a bit more patience and then hopefully I’ll get past the cranky parts to the good stuff.

Ashley Montgomery
4 years ago

Sorry you’re not enjoying this one. It sounds good though.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

Maybe I’ll like it better when I get past the beginning. It sounded good from the blurb and I am curious to see what happens.

Lover Of Romance
4 years ago

yeah, stories with this type of angst ….you have to be in a certain mood for and I have issues with heroines like that though.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

I definitely wasn’t in the mood so I thought it best to give it some time on the shelf and try later. I was pretty irritated with her for jumping down his throat for no reason which set him off into teasing her and getting more of her reaction.

Lekeisha
4 years ago

Aww, sorry this was a bust. I actually added this to my TBR a few weeks ago.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Lekeisha

I’ve been told I stopped too soon so maybe it will be great for you if you tried it. 🙂 Anna @ HCBS loved it. She said this beginning is the hard part, but it gets better.

I will probably give it another go when I no longer feel irritated with the heroine for being so snippy and cranky. Though, I’m not sure when that will be. 🙂

Lola
4 years ago

I hope you’ll enjoy this one more next time you pick it up! That kind of characters can really test your patience and in some moods I can’t handle that. Better to put it down then and come back to it another time.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Lola

Exactly. I was just getting more and more frustrated, but I could see some stuff I liked and wanted to pursue so maybe in a little while I’ll go again.