Review: Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs

Posted March 30, 2020 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 34 Comments

Tags: , , ,

Review: Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs
Bone Crossed

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
two-flames


Series: Mercy Thompson Series #4
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by Orbit
Released on February 5, 2009
Pages: 300
Source: Purchased
add to goodreads

The Delight

I can’t remember how many times I have read this book.  It remains a solid favorite among other books in the series.  I think of it as Mercy’s comeback from what tried to destroy her in book three.

 

Review

Bone Crossed is the fourth of the sensational Mercy Thompson series which is strongly connected from book to book so doesn’t make for good standalones or out of order.

In Bone Crossed, Mercy is working herself up for some personal time with Adam after she agrees to be his mate and she’s nearly ready for intimacy and Adam’s going to get the woman he has patiently waited for, but of course that is when all hell breaks loose.  We encounter Mercy’s mom and wasn’t that good times, but then a tortured, nearly permanently dead Stefan is dropped on her and she learns that the Mistress of the local vampire Seethe now knows who killed one of her favorites.  When things escalate to near war between the werewolves and vampires with Mercy in the middle, the only chance for peace is if Mercy steps away and is no longer a source of antagonism.  Conveniently, an old college acquaintance living in Spokane has a ghost she needs help with.  Too conveniently, maybe?

Bone Crossed brings a closer look at both were and vampire politics and in the middle of crisis, there are some brilliant relationship moments for Mercy and Adam.  And, that adventure in Spokane was quite the interesting revealer to Mercy about her ‘walker’ powers.  All fantastic stuff.

But, what I think really struck me this go around was how strongly Mercy feels responsible for everyone she loves and even total strangers if they are innocent and facing a big and bad monster.  She is willing to go to great lengths to protect others, especially Adam, but struggles to accept protection and care herself.  She also has a big epiphany about why it took her so long to allow a mating with Adam.  I love how she is constantly evolving and learning about herself and others.

So, my reread for the Books of My Heart challenge continues to generate fabulous results and it is all I can do not to binge right up to the latest release.  If you haven’t picked up this series, I envy you your first experience with Mercy’s world.

Challenges Met

COYER Quarantine #5
Literary Pickers #60

Preview

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
34 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Melliane
1 month ago

I always have a great time with this series

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Melliane

Same here! 🙂

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
1 month ago

I can see why you like this, but unlike you I don’t enjoy re-reads. Once in a while I have to do it for a book club but the only re I like is when I get a previously read book on audible. I don’t know why I don’t like to re-read.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

For the longest time I didn’t reread b/c there are always so many wonderful books I haven’t read yet, but releases on audio changed that for me. I’m enjoying this series on audio for this readalong, but this book was unavailable through my library (6 mo waiting list) so I just went ahead with my print copy. It’s been fun and something of a comfort read this year. 🙂

Anne - Books of My Heart

Thank so much for joining in with us Sophia! I love this series and I also am having trouble not doing a binge right to the end. I read Silver Borne already over the weekend.

You are so right about how Mercy is so determined to help others, even strangers and doesn’t accept much help for herself. It is helping her develop her own strengths and the unwavering support of some others, but I worry for her.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago

Haha! Tough to stick to the one a month. It helps that I have to wait for the library waiting list each month on most of these. 🙂
Yes, she really does worry me about not accepting support, too, especially with all the trouble she gets into.

sherry fundin
1 month ago

glad it keeps on giving. i have my eye on this series and will be checking my library…when it reopens
sherry @ fundinmental

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  sherry fundin

That will be fun to see what you think when you get the chance to check out book one, Sherry. 🙂

Ethan
1 month ago

Mercy sounds like such a relatable character, especially in the way she puts others before herself!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Ethan

You hit on probably one of the best things about this series and the heroine, Ethan. It’s urban fantasy with a character many people can relate to. 🙂

Angela (Angel's Guilty Pleasures)

Great review. Love this series and Mercy! Good times.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago

Thanks, Angela! Definitely good times!

Jenea’s Book Obsession

This sounds so amazing and would definitely be something I’d enjoy!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago

Glad to introduce you, Jenea. 🙂

Lover of Romance
1 month ago

You are convincing me more and more I need to read these books. Its such a delight to see a character evolve.

I am curious on the level amount of romance that is in these books?

Great review Sophia!!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago

Oh good! I’d love to see what you think.

It is the best sort of slow-burn romance. You’d love it, Renee!

Carole Rae
1 month ago

I got book 1 on tbr!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

It will be fun to see what you think, Carole. 🙂

Greg
1 month ago

Fun! I’ve read the first book and was definitely impressed. And I love how vampire/ werewolf dynamics are at play in series like this- it’s just such a neat concept. This and the Kitty Norville series are two that I need to get back to!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Greg

I agree. And, I need to actually start the Ktty Norville series. 🙂 Thanks, Greg!

Rachel @Waves of Fiction

I’ve just started my re-read, joining in the fun a little last, but I breezed through the audio of book one in just a little over 24 hours. Already listening to book two! I love this series a little more with each re-read. This’ll be my 3rd time through. Glad to hear you’re enjoying the re-read, too! 🙂

Sophia Rose
1 month ago

Isn’t it just so effortless to pick up these books even after already having re-read them? I’ll look forward to your thoughts on your re-reads, Rachel. 🙂

Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer

I love this series. Not all the books have been a favorite, but these characters… love them.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago

Yes, some are more favorites than others, but the characters are always the high point for me, too. 🙂

Jen
Jen
1 month ago

Huh… I really don’t remember this one at all, even with your review. I will have to go back and find my review and see if it triggers any memories. I mean I know I enjoyed it, but I don’t recall what happened. Thanks for the review!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Jen

Oh man, I’ve had a few like that. 🙂

Sharonda
Sharonda
1 month ago

oh yes, this was one of the best books in the series. love mercy!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Sharonda

She’s such a great underdog heroine. I love her, too. 🙂

Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

I’m so glad that you have had such a great experience with the rereading of this series. You make me want to read these books, from the way you describe Mercy’s character, and the various plotlines in each book, to her supernatural gifts, and relationship with Adam. Fantastic Review Sophia!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago

The re-read is definitely the highlight of my monthly reading. Oh yes, you really do want to give these a go, Lindy. 🙂

Mary Kirkland
1 month ago

That sounds like my kind of book. At some point I’ll have to read this author.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Absolutely, Mary! 🙂 I think you would love the characters and the way she writes her supernaturals.

Nadene
1 month ago

Re-reads are not my thing, I guess its because time does not permit as I have so many books to get through. I hope to start this series one day.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Nadene

I don’t get to re-read very often for the same reason, but lately I’ve been doing it more now that I want to try old favorites on audio. I think you’ll love these when you get the chance, Nadene. 🙂