Review: Dangerously Divine by Deborah Blake

Posted November 28, 2017 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 35 Comments

Tags: , , ,

Review: Dangerously Divine by Deborah Blake
Dangerously Divine

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-flames


Series: Broken Rider #2
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Published by Berkley
Released on November 28, 2017
Pages: 302
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
add to goodreads

The Delight

The second of the three former Riders gets his story.  Gregori Sun, the calm, logical, and oldest of the three brothers is unraveling at the seams.  I wanted to bundle up each of these guys and heal them with a hug.  But no… they have to make their own way back.  Gregori’s story and his extra special lady was captivating and emotional from the beginning.

Review

There was something extra special about this story that took it up several notches even from the first book, Mikhail’s story.  I suspect it was the themes of broken people, broken families, abuse, surviving and thriving, and paying it forward.

Gregori and Ciera both are hanging by threads when they encounter one another.  Ciera is in a better place from her past, but she is stirring up things in the dark she won’t be able to handle when she puts herself on the radar of a drug cartel leader while Gregori is literally going to pieces and must find a way to control the supernatural gifts that are emerging since he was tortured and lost his immortality.

Both have a hard row to hoe, but I loved how the author made this a romance story of two survivors finding each other and helping each other finish finding their strengths and that they can reach out to others in trust and have a chance at love.

Things are pretty exciting and come at the pair from a few different angles.  Both have enemies they aren’t even aware of that are after them and both are on separate quests.  It was neat and got in some great action moments along with a few Baba Yaga Bella and cat-dragon and Rider scenes which made me grin.

Oh the feels I got from this book.  There were bits of humor slipped in to make me chuckle, sweet ahhhs, passionate ohhhs, suspenseful page-turner scenes, and heartwarming triumphs.

And now we’re down to the last Rider, the big larger than life bear of man, Alexei.  Can’t wait to see what and who is in store for him.

Dangerously Divine is probably my favorite book between both the Baba Yaga and Broken Riders series.  Incidentally, my recommendations is to read them in order from the first Baba Yaga and on through in order because they work best that way.  Those who enjoyed action, suspense, a bit of witchery, humor, and slow-burn passion in their paranormals should definitely pick these up.

Challenges

Romance Roundabout #297 PNR
New Release #176 

Recommendations

  Shards of Hope by Nalini Singh
0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
35 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Melliane
2 years ago

Oh I have the first one but well I still need to read it. I’m late!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Melliane

LOL! You’re falling behind. Quick. Just kidding, Melliane.

I loved this one much more than the first one so I hope you can get to it soon. 🙂

Melliane
2 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

right? think that I pre-ordered book 1 before it was released and it is still waiting for me*sigh*

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Melliane

I have done this a few time, too. LOL

AngieElle @ Ba_BAMB
2 years ago

‘…he was tortured and lost his immortality.’ Ummm…this sounds like early Kenyon, and I LOVE early Kenyon! I should probably check this one out. Plus, just the name Gregori. Swoon. LOL

Great review, Sophia!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

I still need to read her stuff.

The torturing took place in the third book of her Baba Yaga series and now this series is about the aftermath of all that. It’s only a little gritty compared to Kenyon, I’ll bet. But still good.

I get all excited over characters with certain names, too. 🙂

AngieElle @ Ba_BAMB
2 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

Yes, Kenyon is big on torture!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Even better. 🙂

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
2 years ago

Okay now I’ve seen everything a paranormal biker romance LOL Looks good thanks Sophia Rose

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Never say that. You’re about to see some really whacked out stuff now, Debbie. LOL

Actually, the biker aspect is low key, but there are tons of other great quirky parts to this. I do enjoy her books.

Lily B
2 years ago

I’ll read her books one day 🙁 I miss my PNR need to make time for them, great review, glad this one felt better for you

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Lily B

I think you’ll have fun with them starting with her Baba Yaga stories, Lily. When you’re in the mood, of course. 😉

Mary Kirkland
2 years ago

I’ve read a few reviews for this one and it sounds quite good.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Very good. I loved her Baba Yaga stories and liked the first one of these, but now I’m back to the loving. 🙂

Melissa (Books and Things)

Hm… I do think I may need this in my life! Brilly review. Looks like I need to check out this author’s books!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Oh yes, one needs a Gregori Sun in her life, Melissa. Start with her Baba Yaga series when you go to check them out. 🙂

Nadene@Ttly addicted 2 reading

This one sounds like a lot of fun. I never heard of it before, thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Always tickled to introduce good books to folks, Nadene. 🙂

Carole's Random Life
2 years ago

This sounds fabulous, Sophia Rose! I may have to try to read this series.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

They are fantastic. Make sure you start with the Baba Yaga stories first, Carole. 🙂

Lorna
2 years ago

5 stars! That’s great. The last one wasn’t a favorite for me so I had decided not to go on with the series. But you have me intrigued! Glad it was so good for you!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Lorna

Yeah, I wasn’t too impressed with the first book, either. Now this one… I was in love. 🙂

Kimberly Caffeinated Reviewer

I am seriously waiting for the audio version of this series 🙁

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Oh man, tough wait. I’ll be curious who they have as narrators and what you think of them, Kimberly.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Ooh, super, Geybie! Glad I could tempt you. 🙂

Vanessa
2 years ago

Ohhh, 5 stars! I really need to check out this series. Awesome review Sophia Rose 🙂

xx
Vanessa @ Blushing Geek

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Vanessa

This was a great one for me. Hope you get the chance, Vanessa. 🙂

Melanie Simmons
2 years ago

I really need to try this author. This sounds so good. Great review.

Melanie @ Hot Listens & Rabid Reads

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Oh yes, Melanie! I think you would love her stuff. Start with her Baba Yaga series and then this one. 🙂

Evie
2 years ago

This sounds great. You make me want to read this!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Evie

Heh heh, then my work as the book temptress is done. 😉 But, for real, it was one of the best PNRs I’ve read. Hope you get the chance to hit up her books, Evie. 🙂

Lover Of Romance
2 years ago

I have the first book requested from my local library, so just waiting on that one. Sounds like a great book though. its really a true testament to the talent of the author when they deliver all the feels and I have had this author on my wishlist for like ages!! hehe

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Neat! Did you request the first Baba Yaga book or the first Broken Rider?

Yes, for sure, I loved how she got my emotions completely engaged with this one.

Anna@herding cats&burning soup

Okay I just skimmed because it’s on my review list and I’m late on it but whoa favorite of all of them? Darn me for putting it off so long.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

You are in for a delicious treat, Anna. I can’t wait to see if you end up liking it as much as I did (no pressure if you don’t, LOL).