Eternally Devoted by Stacey Kennedy #Review

Eternally Devoted by Stacey Kennedy #ReviewEternally Devoted by Stacey Kennedy

Series: #4 Frostbite
Pages: 133
Format: eARC
Source: Author
    add to goodreads
four-half-stars  

I just read the last page of Tess and Kipp’s story and I sit here with this huge silly grin on my face.  I’m pretty sure I made the sated ‘ah’ sound too.  I can’t even work myself up to feeling bittersweet about the ending of a most favored series because Stacey Kennedy seems to know how to bring one safely through in a manner that leaves me so content that I can’t spare a second for regret.

Upon reflection, I see these books as more of one book in four volumes because of how directly connected they are and how tight they hug to each other and not just the one before it.  I bring this up to say that this is a series that abso-must be read in order.  There will be series spoilers in this review so be aware of this if you continue reading.

This story takes off right where Mystically Bound leaves things.  Where Mystically Bound was a transitional book, Eternally Devoted is the clincher.  Things are coming together and making sense finally even if the answers aren’t what people want to hear.  The book has two different paces where the first half is a frenzied search for answers and the last half slows to gently flow with what finally having the answers mean.

The group in White Castle trying to solve Alexander’s murder along with Tess trying to find the spell to help Kipp has just been warned by Max that Wayne is an imposter.  This announcement leads to further investigation into Wayne which reveals the fact that he has a home in Baton Rouge.  Off they all go to hunt down a presumed murderer and the Lux book of spells.  And indeed, great revelations are made, but in a way that’s just the beginning of a long agony-filled denouement.  None of it’s easygoing particularly for Tess who is faced with taking a gamble on what will help Kipp and making a momentous decision about her own life that may separate her from Kipp forever.

Okay, now I’m starting to get that bittersweet feeling of something good coming to an end.  I look back on the solid, gripping plot, on the characters that drew me in and kept me in suspense and sympathy for them from the beginning, on the way my emotions were engaged and on the cliffhangers that caused me to think bad thoughts about authors who end their stories that way. Yes, I will even miss the cliffhangers and the anticipation of what was coming with each new installment.  However, the taste of bitterness is mild because of the outstanding wrap up to the series in the latter half of this book- yowsers I just knew how good it would be and it was.  It was filled with tears, laughter, smoldering sensual heat, and deep-seated contentment with a future bright with promise even for those who were saddened.

So in the end, I cannot shoo you off to get this book/series fast enough.  Fans of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance should probably ‘shoo’ to check these out the fastest.

I want to thank Stacey Kennedy for the gift of my copy which I have exchanged with her for my honest review thoughts on the book.

About Stacey Kennedy

Stacey Kennedy is an urban fantasy lover at heart, but she also enjoys losing herself in dark and sensual worlds. She loves in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who gave her a happily-ever-after. Together, they have two small children who can always make her smile, and who will never be allowed to read Mommy’s books. If she’s not plugging away at a new story, you’ll find her camping, curling up with the latest flick, or obsessing over Sons of Anarchy, Supernatural, True Blood and Lost Girl.

The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.