Review: Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen

Posted June 16, 2017 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 30 Comments

Tags:

Review: Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen
Lost Lake
Narrated by Janet Metzger

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
one-flame


Series: Lost Lake #1
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Published by Brilliance Audio
Released on 21 January 2014
Length: 8 hrs and 22 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
add to goodreads


The Delight

A writer who paints a whole gorgeous canvas with her words writes of one nostalgic summer in the south when dreams and love, old and young, regrets and redemption all come to Lost Lake.


Review

After experiencing the wonder and magic of Garden Spells, it was only a matter of time before I dove in once again to a book world this author created.  I slowly connected with this story, but once I did; I was a goner.  Lost Lake is an old lake resort near a small town and is hidden away save for the people who magically find their way there.  I loved the blend of old nostalgia for what used to be, the intriguing moments of magical realism, people who have been lost finding their way, and of course love- one old and one a second chance for a younger pair.

There is a large cast of colorful, quirky characters and the narration shifts between them all.  Present stories are interesting and the situation of the last summer before the lake resort being sold- or not- is enough to keep me reading, but it was digging into each person’s pasts that brought to the surface the real gems of the story.

The pacing and tone of the story reflect the writing style with its drowsy, slower-paced meandering in the moist summer heat.

And if the story were not already a fabulous experience, I had the audio edition with the talented Janet Metzger bringing each of those fascinating characters to life.  I will definitely pick up more of her work now that I’ve discovered it.

All in all, I got lost in the lush beauty and color of the story and I would encourage those who enjoy contemporary fiction with a strong dose of magical realism and romance to pick this one up.


Challenges

Romance Roundabout #161 CR
Mt. TBR #77 Audio #40


 Review The Christmas He Loved Her by Juliana Stone Review Last Chance Summer by Hope Ramsay


Need more convincing to read book name? How about a preview?
0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
30 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
RO
RO
3 years ago

Finding an area which happened to be so beautiful and different from what’s expected reminds me a little of the scenery from the movie, The Shack. Finding what was lost and eventually gaining peace is a great focus. This sounds like a lovely book, and your review is wonderful. Happy Friday!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  RO

I have not seen The Shack, but I do remember the previews that showed rugged lake and cabin- definitely would work as the same scenery for this one though it was swamp land. Definitely a lovely book and strong elements.

Have a great weekend, Ro!

Melliane
3 years ago

It looks nice, the cover is really beautiful as well! I didn’t know about this one but why not!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Melliane

Definitely a why not, Melliane. Hope you get the chance. 🙂

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
3 years ago

Great review Sophia Rose I loved reading this book and may just get the audible too!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

It was such a nostalgic and heartwarming piece and the narrator did a great job with that tone.

Vanessa
3 years ago

I’m already a goner when I saw the cover. My! It’s definitely like forever since I read something like this one. I’ll be keeping this one in mind. Great review Sophia Rose 🙂

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Vanessa

Yes, its a lovely cover with the lanterns and path to the lake like that. Hope you get the chance, Vanessa!

Sharonda
3 years ago

Oh I really need to start reading her books again, she writes so beautifully! Great review Sophia 😀

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Sharonda

I am a latecomer, but I can see why everyone loves these, Sharonda.

Mary Kirkland
3 years ago

That does sound like a pretty good story.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

It really was. It put me in such a good mood the whole time I was listening. LOL

Karen
Karen
3 years ago

I haven’t read this author yet but she always has the most beautiful covers.

For What It’s Worth

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Karen

I agree, Karen. Her covers are gorgeous. I have two of them in print copy because I loved the cover. 🙂

Carole's Random Life
3 years ago

I read this book right around the time it came out. I think I might have had an arc. I remember really liking it. I love her brand of magical realism. I should probably try to get caught up with her backlist. Great review!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

This is my second one by her. I have two more on my pile that I want to get to this year, but we shall see. At least with starting this late, I don’t run into library holds and waiting lists. 🙂

kimbacaffeinate
3 years ago

Garden Spells is my favorite but I enjoy everything Allen writes..I bet this is delightful on audio. I need to listen to Janet Metzger

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

Garden Spells was my first one and it hooked me in. This was my first time listen to Janet Metzger. Well worth it, Kimberly. 🙂

RO
RO
3 years ago

Neve4r heard of this author, but enjoy the idea of quirky characters. Hugs…

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  RO

This is only my second book by her, but I have a feeling I’ll get along well with all her books. Thanks, Ro! Big hug back. 🙂

Anna@herding cats&burning soup

Oh I’m glad to see you liked her. I would see her books all the time when I worked in a bookstore but never grabbed one despite the pretty covers. I’m going to have to change that!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

I’m late to the party, too, Anna. Well worth it to snag one. I’ll eventually work my way through our library’s stash of her books. I hope Janet Metzger narrates more of them.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

I’m late to the party, too, Anna. Well worth it to snag one. I’ll eventually work my way through our library’s stash of her books. I hope Janet Metzger narrates more of them.

Lola
3 years ago

I don’t read a lot of magical realism, but I found some great books int he genre. this sounds like a very well written book! I like how you describe the characters, they sound like a great group to read about! And sometimes a slower pace fits the story perfectly. Great review!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Lola

I don’t get to read many either. I usually accidentally find them rather than go looking for them. Her characters and that gentle pace were a really good part of the story.

Thanks, Lola!

Evie
3 years ago

I love Sarah Addison Allen. I have only read one book by her (The Girl Who Chased The Moon) and I loved it. I love magical realism but unfortunately I don’t get to read a lot of it, but she’s one of those authors I have on my list to keep reading. Great review!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Evie

Oh, haven’t tried that one yet. I do plan to get around to her whole backlist at some point. Hope you get more time for these, Evie. 🙂

Evie
3 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

That’s my plan too! Hopefully we will.

Cyn @ Bookmunchies
3 years ago

I love the colour and it definitely Sounds like a colourful and lovely family romance. I’m glad you loved this! Awesome review, Sophia Rose!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

It was a story so full of beauty and color. Thanks, Cyn!