Review: Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs

Posted May 3, 2020 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 33 Comments

Tags: , , , , , ,

Review: Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs
Silver Borne
Narrated by Lorelei King

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
two-flames


Series: Mercy Thompson Series #5
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by Penguin Random House Audio
Released on March 30, 2010
Length: 9 hrs and 5 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
add to goodreads

The Delight

I pressed forward with our monthly group reading of the Mercy Thompson series with Mercy tangling with werewolf pack politics, a tricky mate bond, and the even trickier fae, but Mercy is coyote so she finds a way along a path with danger on every side.

Review

Silver Borne is the fifth of the Mercy Thompson urban fantasy series that are all tightly connected so must be read/listened to in order.

In a previous adventure, Mercy required the use of a special fae book that explained fae artifacts and legends.  Now, the owner of that book has disappeared and there are suddenly fae interested in the book, in her, and maybe in the werewolves.  It is never good to draw this sort of interest, but Mercy is determined to help find Finn if he is in danger and keep his book safe.

A date with Adam leads to a horrible evening in which Mercy discovers that someone or several someones in the pack are actively trying to sabotage her mating with Adam because they can’t stand a coyote in the pack.  It is not surprising, but it is painful to feel that her very presence is tearing apart Adam’s pack and making her really work through her past hang-ups and her present difficulties and decide if she will stand or step aside.

But, that’s not all, Samuel’s shaky hold on life starts to fracture and she is left caring for a dear friend who is hanging by a thread.  If she can’t help him find a way, the Marrok or Adam will have to put him down.

Mercy’s plate is overflowing as usual and that was before someone else she loves goes missing.

Silver Borne is one I read immediately after it first released, but is also the beginning of the books in the series that I have not re-read.  This is the place I was excited to get to in our series group read.  I vaguely remembered events, but it was exciting to settle in for a story I couldn’t remember specifics.  Getting it in audio was also a wonderful treat as usual.

I was struck by what Mercy had to face well and beyond her own issues with pack in this one.  She really had to decide if Adam was worth all that she would have to face and deal with let alone her adjustments to a mating bond that still prickles with invasiveness and panic attacks while recovering from being raped.  Added to this, she has a close loved one attempt suicide just like her foster father did when she was young.  She had more than her fill of personal struggles and this could have been off the charts angsty, but it was beautiful handled and was just the right level of angst and introspection helped by some great suspense and urban fantasy action.

Just when it seems its safe to get comfortable with the Mercy Thompson world, the author paints in more details like she does with fae lore in this one.  I loved the Silver Borne story and my heart ached for the heroine.  It was lovely to see how that story wove in with Samuel’s past.  And, let me just say that Zee in his true form and in action as the Dark Smith gets me every time.

The hours flew by as I got happily lost in Lorelei King’s rendition of Silver Borne.  She masterfully commands the story and its cast of characters.

I finished and felt sated and happy after all Mercy’s struggles and her fight to see her come out on the other side.  Some of my favorite Adam and Mercy moments.  I’m itching to plunge ahead into the next book, but I will try to be patient and read/listen to others until I can snatch up River Marked.

Challenges Met

Library Love #7
Mt. TBR #39
Literary Pickers #71 Tux
Romanceopoly #37 Action Avenue
Audio #34

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
33 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rachel @Waves of Fiction

I’ve listened to a couple more ahead of this: River Marked because I’m doing the review for Anne on that one and then one more. Mary Jo really ticked me off, even more than the last couple of times I read, and even though she did try and make up for her actions it was only because of Adam, not that her attitude changed towards Mercy at all.

Sophia Rose
26 days ago

You are so right. Mary Jo was being a real nasty in this one. She and her pals.

Mary Kirkland
26 days ago

She’s one of the authors that I need to read more of. Her books usually sound good.

Sophia Rose
26 days ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Most definitely! There is always something special about each one.

vvb
vvb
26 days ago

I always love the tattoos on this cover series. Want to read it, but have to get in that urban fantasy mood first. Definitely have this series on my radar.

Sophia Rose
25 days ago
Reply to  vvb

Daniel Dos Santos is a fabulous cover illustrator and I love the way each cover ties so well into the book’s story. Oh good! I think you’ll really dig these when you get into the UF mood, Velvet. 🙂

Greg
25 days ago

Mercy sounds like she has her hands full i this one! 🙂 I’ve only read the first book but I really liked it. This is a series I mean to keep on with, I just need to get on with it! Glad this was good…

Sophia Rose
25 days ago
Reply to  Greg

She really does and I didn’t even get into it completely to keep from the spoilers. Its sensational, Greg!

Anne - Books of My Heart

Excellent review! We’re reading River Marked now. I am so excited for all the things I have forgotten too! I’ve got a ways to go before I started getting them to read and review, a year apart roughly. Thanks for joining us.

Sophia Rose
25 days ago

Yes, River Marked! Another I am vague about. I will have to go back and do the Charles and Anna books at some point, too.

Berls
25 days ago

Great review Sophia. I enjoyed this book a lot – especially as a reread. I think not remembering specifics has been fun for this, totally agree.

Sophia Rose
25 days ago
Reply to  Berls

Thanks, Berls! Not that I didn’t love the earlier books, but now I’m into the ones I couldn’t remember well.

Lover of Romance
25 days ago

Lordy….you are TEMPTING me with this series. I have just bought the first book because of you lol Hopefully I will love this journey Mercy and Adam just as you have.

Great review

Sophia Rose
25 days ago

Just call me the Book Temptress. LOL I just know you will love these especially as they progress. 🙂

Carole's Random Life in Books

It seems like Mercy always has her plate full. Lorelei King does such a good job with this series. I think I could listen to this one over and over again and never tire of it.

Sophia Rose
25 days ago

She really does. Each adventure brings her complications. 🙂 I don’t think I’d get tired of re-listens to this series every few years.

Beena Khan
25 days ago

I love the cover, I haven’t read anything about this author before. I should though. Lovely review.

Sophia Rose
25 days ago
Reply to  Beena Khan

Oh, you really should, Beena. 🙂

Nadene
25 days ago

This series seems to get better with each book. Glad you are enjoying your rereads.

Sophia Rose
25 days ago
Reply to  Nadene

Yes, it just keeps building and growing. I can’t wait for the next one. 🙂

Nadene
25 days ago

This series appears to get better with each book. Glad you are enjoying your rereads.

Carole Rae
25 days ago

Poor girl! It seems like she always has her plate full!

Sophia Rose
25 days ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

For sure, poor Mercy! And, the wolves giving her trouble deserve a swift kick in the backside. 🙂

Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

I’m glad that you enjoyed the audio installment, as I’ve been on an audiobook kick, and it’s great to hear this series delivers in that regard. I love that the author was able to balance the angst and emotional parts of the book, with introspection and action. Fantastic Review Sophia!

Sophia Rose
23 days ago

Yes, this is a grand series to get on audio. I’m so glad my library has them all. The author is amazing with the balance of emotion with action.

Kristin
23 days ago

I used to love this series. I made it as far as book 6 and then I just lost touch with it. I think it’s because I had caught up with the book in the series, and I had started blogging around that time. I really need to go back and reread the series so that I can catch back up.

Sophia Rose
23 days ago
Reply to  Kristin

I’ve done that with a few series, too. I caught up and got distracted. 🙂

Yes, do go back. I’ve been having a blast doing a re-read(listen) of the series.

Lola
23 days ago

This one sounds like a solid urban fantasy series and I like reading your reviews of your re-read of these books. It sounds like there are plenty of things going on in this book. And that’s neat how these later books fill in parts of the world building like the fae lore that gets added here. Great review!

Sophia Rose
23 days ago
Reply to  Lola

It is my top UF series and it really is because of the details that add to the character and action sides of the plot. Yes, it was cool to get more about the fae part of the world.

Lover of Romance
22 days ago

So happy to see that this one has some of your favorite Mercy and Adam moments. With each book you recap on …you have me even more excited to pick it up soon.

Sophia Rose
22 days ago

Yes, I do love seeing their relationship deepen and how they handle each crisis with maturity. 🙂

Jen
Jen
21 days ago

Lovely Review! I remember really liking this one (and RIVER MARKED was amazing!). It’s been so long since I’ve read these first books, it’s been great catching up through your re-reads. Thanks.

Sophia Rose
21 days ago
Reply to  Jen

Watching her and Adam work through stuff and come out stronger together was great. I can’t wait to jump into River Marked next.