Delighted Rebooted Review: Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh

Posted July 15, 2019 by Shari in Reviews / 11 Comments

Tags: , , , , ,

Delighted Rebooted Review: Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh
Slave to Sensation

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
two-half-flames


Series: Psy-Changling #1
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Published by Berkley
Released on September 5, 2006
Pages: 334
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
add to goodreads


The Delight Reboot

Welcome to Delighted Reboot Review! On July 15, 2011 (8 years ago) I started this blog with my first review. Guess what that review was? Yes, you guessed it, Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh was my very first review on what was a different named blog, but still my first review! By different named blog, Delighted Reader is actually the third name of the blog I tried out. Slave to Sensation started my love for Nalini Singh books. The cover has changed, but the story is still about a emotion filled shifter and an semi-emotional Psy who doesn’t understand her empathetic feelings. No it wasn’t my favorite, but it did set the story and tone for books to come. Today, enjoy (or laugh) at my very first review.

Originally posted on July 15, 2011.


There was a new book out in this series and generally, I don’t like to read books out of sequence. So to get to the newest book, I went back to the first one.

At first I had a hard time grasping the PsyNet. But the author did a wonderful job of explaining it. There are also a lot to learn about the changelings as with each new series, they have their own twists to put to the story.

Sascha was a complex character that I feel no one truly could control or understand. While Lucas had a dark past that drove his actions. The evil intertwined in the story really broke me down. I am sure this evil has fingers into future books that will drive even more wedges into the PsyNet.

I can’t say I was drawn in too much by emotions, maybe I am Psy. The bed room scenes were OK, but not exceptional. I found myself drawn to some of the other characters and hoping to get to hear their stories as I read through this series.

Suffering from the first book in the series, I found myself just so-so liking this story. I find this review hard to write as the book wasn’t horrible, but neither was it my all time favorite. I am hoping because it was the first, I just got too hung up on details of this world.


Preview

About Nalini Singh

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
Shari is the Delighted Reader. Married to her Prince Charming and mother to two Princesses and one Prince. When she is not slaving away as Cinderella she loves to get lost in the pages of a good book. Never without a reading device and a few good paperback books, because she never knows when she might get 5 minutes to read!

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
11 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Melliane
1 year ago

I think I have this one at home but I haven’t tried it yet

Angela - Angel's Guilty Pleasures

I love this series! I know I had trouble understanding the Psy, but the author eventually got me to get them. A favorite book and series for me to re-read. Thank’s for revisiting this one.

Mary Kirkland
1 year ago

I’ve only read a couple of her books but I’ve liked what I’ve read so far.

Sophia Rose
1 year ago

The psy world was so complex and yes, it was a bit before I grasped it. Love this series!

Cool to see your very first review.

Carole rae
1 year ago

Eh. I’m not sure. I may skip this one. But I like the cover 😉

Lorna
Lorna
1 year ago

I listened to this one maybe 3 years ago, not sure, but I did like it. I have either read or listened to a few more as well.And have even more in a bag somewhere hidden in my house that I picked up at a used bookstore. I’m good at forgetting what I have done with things. I enjoyed reading your first review and I am sure that you did a much better job than I did with my first one! I hope you are feeling better!