Review: Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh

Posted October 30, 2018 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 22 Comments

Tags: ,

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh
Archangel's Prophecy

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
three-flames


Series: Guild Hunter #11
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by Berkley
Released on October 30, 2018
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
add to goodreads


The Delight

In the midst of powerful natural and unnatural disaster world-wide, an evil that only sleeps, and a love that transcends all between an archangel and his angel-made consort, an ancient prophecy threatens to rip the world and the lovers apart.  The rising action of this latest book threatened to undo me with all response and emotion it pulled forth.


Review

Archangel’s Prophecy is #11 in the Guild Hunter series that must be read in order.

Just when I thought this series might be waning and coasting into its finale, this book comes along and doesn’t just fan the flames, but pours an accelerate on it.  This one offered up a game changer and I have no idea where it will lead other than the promise of a clash of titans between the evil that is Lijuan the Archangel of Death and Raphael and Elena.

Most of this one slowly built along two storylines set against the odd calamities of the Cascade.  First, Elena is back in hunter action trying to track the person who tried to kill her brother in law and threatened her sister.  The trail is dark and gritty as the bloody body count rises.  Along side this suspense element is the inexplicable and nerve-wracking loss of her angel-hood and immortality.  An ancient voice predicts her death so another can live, but Elena is a huntress and has no plans to cave to fate especially when Raphael’s warmth and love will die with her.

The book was riveting and I had to know the answers to both storylines.  The love affair of Raphael and Elena was as endearing and strong as ever, time with Raphael’s Seven and their camaraderie is always good, friends and family time, tracking down a skilled killer, and Elena’s unbecoming were all blended into one fabulous story.  It was steady and gave both exciting and introspective moments in turn though one of the plot threads did go from steady to rushed to get it finished by the end.  I was totally in this one right up to the end.

The biggest plot thread is left dangling over a cliff.  I saw the pages thinning as I neared the back of the book and had a bad feeling.  After all the build up and now I must wait.   So be prepared for that.  Not that its a big deal this late in the series when it’s pretty much hardcore fans who will read the next book no matter what, but waiting… yeah.

All in all, another strong installment in the Guild Hunter series in this incredible world where powerful, militant angel’s rule, vampires and other magic users exist, and humans are definitely not at the top of the food chain.  If you like action-packed paired with sensual and sparkling romantic pairings in a dangerous urban fantasy world, give these a try.

My thanks to Penguin- Random House for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.


Challenges

Romance Roundabout #386 UF
New Release #165


Recommendations

Review Burning Dawn by Gena Showalter Review Dark Skye by Kresley Cole  Review Revenant by Larissa Ione

About Nalini Singh

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
22 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Melliane
1 year ago

I’m late in this series I only tried a few but I think I have some at home to read

Sophia Rose
1 year ago
Reply to  Melliane

Probably not such a bad thing since you’ll probably catch up after the next one comes out and won’t be stuck with a cliffhanger. LOL

Angie Elle
1 year ago

This book sounds so good! I love when two storylines keep me equally invested and on the edge of my seat until the end. When I finish one of the other dozen series I’ve started, I can finish this one. 🙂

Sophia Rose
1 year ago
Reply to  Angie Elle

I hear you. Good series will still be there and its hard to juggle a bunch at once. Besides, waiting will keep you from fretting over this cliffhanger. 😉

Northwoman
1 year ago

Everyone’s reading and enjoying this one. I have to start the series yet. I look forward to it. Thanks for the review. Anne – Books of My Heart

Sophia Rose
1 year ago
Reply to  Northwoman

It will definitely keep for when you’re ready, Anne. Good stuff!

Braine
1 year ago

Yet another one of those PNR classics that I haven’t tried yet. Have you tried the audio for this series? Is it good?

Sophia Rose
1 year ago
Reply to  Braine

No, I’ve not tried the audios. Not even sure who voices them. Bet they’re done well, though.

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
1 year ago

don’t you just love when a series you think is ending does a whammo on you! loved your review Sophia Rose

Sophia Rose
1 year ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

She’s done it twice now and the first time with her Changelings series was a big success. I see this one doing the same with the new twists that just happened.

Mary Kirkland
1 year ago

This series is in my wish list and one day I will get to it because it does sound good.

Sophia Rose
1 year ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Oh yes! These are pretty exciting stuff, Mary. I know lots of people prefer her PsyChangeling series and I do love that one, but I find this one equally amazing.

Carole rae
1 year ago

#11!!!!! WOAH!

Sophia Rose
1 year ago
Reply to  Carole rae

Oh yeah! It’s a solid long standing series. Hope you get the chance, Carole.

Carole @ Carole's Random Life in Books

I just read another great review for this book. I can’t believe that I have started this series yet. It really sounds like my kind of read.

Sophia Rose
1 year ago

Most definitely a yes that you would love this series, Carole. 🙂

Lola
1 year ago

I only read the first two books in this series I think, but it wans’t quite the series for me. That is great to hear it’s still going strong, sounds like there is enough going on to keep your attention. And nice that their romance is still doing well too, so many books end when a couple gets together, so it’s fun to find a longer running series where you can see a couple together. Too bad about the cliffhanger, but it usually does make me curious about the next book, but the wait can be difficult. Great review!

Sophia Rose
1 year ago
Reply to  Lola

Yes, I do enjoy that she kept coming back to this pair even after they got their HEA. She does it in a way that their relationship is strong and the conflict is something they fight together.
So true about this being a good sort of cliffhanger and keeps me eager rather than angry. 🙂

herding cats
1 year ago

I’m glad you enjoyed it! I saw some grumbling over that cliffy. I’ve still not ventured into any more of hers. Gotta get those rockstar ones at some point 🙂

Sophia Rose
1 year ago
Reply to  herding cats

Yes, it was a cliffie, but not one that came as a shock when I realized we were building with a new series arc. I have my guesses about Elena’s condition so I’m dying to know if I’m right. 🙂

I want to read her latest ‘Bollywood-style’ Big Fat Greek wedding one, but for some reason the rock star ones didn’t grab me. I read one and started a second one and set it aside. Maybe later. 🙂

Rachel @Waves of Fiction

I knew there was a cliffhanger before going in, but still! Ack! I’m not too worried though, because I don’t think Nalini Singh will break our hearts. All the books I’ve read so far she’s given a wonderful HEA just when you think all hope is gone, lol! Wonderful review, Sophia Rose! 🙂

Sophia Rose
1 year ago

I was totally taken by surprise on the cliffie, but I agree about her coming through with great finishes, Rachel. 🙂