Review: Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs

Posted February 9, 2020 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 34 Comments

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Review: Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs
Blood Bound
Narrated by Lorelei King

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
one-flame


Series: Mercy Thompson #2
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by Penguin Random House Audio
Released on October 1, 2009
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
add to goodreads


The Delight

I’m on a role having just experienced Moon Called in audio format for the group series read hosted by Anne at Books Are My Heart blog.  I kept going with Blood Bound and the ongoing adventures of coyote shifter, Mercy Thompson and her friends as told by the fabulous Lorelei King.


Review

Blood Bound is book two in the Mercy Thompson series and is part of an urban fantasy series that holds a separate challenge for Mercy in each book, but there is a series arc and ongoing development in characters and relationships that make it best read in order.

One of Stefan’s ‘sheep’ is forcefully turned by a friend-rival who then sends Daniel out on a route check when a strange vampire enters the Seethe’s territory and it was nothing routine in the end.  Something about the whole matter troubles Stefan so he calls in his favor from Mercy and trusts to her ‘Walker’ talent to see through any magical illusions or compulsions if this strange vampire ends up getting past his own formidable vampiric power.  Mercy and Stefan don’t fare any better than Daniel and it takes the most powerful members of the tri-city supernatural community to stop a powerful evil who is slaughtering his way through anyone in his path.

Meanwhile, Mercy doesn’t know what to do with her attraction to two different men who both are sticking close and making their interest known.  Samuel, who is brooding more than ever and struggling with issues that might break this old, strong werewolf including his conflicted love for her because he’s already had his chance in the past, and then, Adam, who makes her feel too much and too deeply so that she is convinced he is compelling her and neutralizing her free will- though, deep down, she knows he is too honorable for that.  She shelves this when there is an evil to vanquish and the lives of many she loves are threatened.  Time for her coyote to hunt.

This is not even my first time re-reading this book.  It’s one of my favorites in the series, but it has been some time.  I was struck by new details that I noticed before, but really caught my attention in this one.  I think that is the mark of a fabulous book-series when one can keep mining out more to appreciate with multiple re-reads and also get lost in the moment so that it is almost like it is happening for the first time once again.  The word craft, characters, dialogue, background, and plot build are spot on.

There is the deeper exploration of the vampire world which is always fascinating.  The teasing out of Stefan’s life in his seethe and his friendship with Mercy which is forbidden for them both because of who they are.  The author was not afraid to show the amazing side of vampires, but also the shadowy and edgier one that was not in the least glamorous.  It makes them more real and engaging.

The love triangle is not a trope I have much toleration for, but its presence in this book was so background much of the time and the foreshadowing of what was to be was so strong that I could simply appreciate the way the emerging romance was developing at a slow rate that could be savored.

But, it was the relationships between Mercy and Adam’s pack and then Adam and his close friendship with Warren that really struck me this time.  That pack antagonized Mercy, but when she exercised it, she dominated them even Adam’s second, Darrell.  Even though she likes to think she was barely tolerated and despised and that she has no place in pack because she is coyote, it was obvious that she was wrong and she had a very definite place.  When Warren was hurt and it was mentioned that he was Adam’s best friend and that was how he came to be and stay in the pack even when many were hostile to him, it was the first time I’d really noticed this pack relationship.  Warren was always his go-to guy and I thought it was because he recognized Warren’s place of power in the pack and his steady nature, but it was more.  I do love good bromances.

Lorelei King is lights out spectacular as the narrator for the series.  She sets a high bar for others and makes a wonderful story even better.

As I re-listen to this series, I am delighted afresh.  If you just so happen to have gotten late to the game on urban fantasy or this series, don’t hesitate to pick it up.  It’s solid gold even years later.


Challenges Met

Audio #6
Literary Pickers #13 pet
COYER Winter Friends #33
Mt. TBR #10

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
34 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lola
4 months ago

I plan to check out this series eventually as it’s one of those series I keep seeing over and over. It’s awesome when you can re-read series multiple times and still notice new things every time. Good to know the love triangle stays mostly to the background. I usually don’t really care for that trope either, although sometimes it works or makes sense, as long as it doesn’t drag on too long. It sounds like a great world the author has created in this series with wonderful characters. Great review!

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Lola

I think you will really like this series when you get the chance because the world building and attention to the old stories is really neat.
I agree. The love triangle isn’t too pronounced and I think really only lasts into part of book three plus its quite obvious who will end up together. 🙂 I don’t mind that.

Mary Kirkland
4 months ago

I haven’t read this series yet but it’s on my wish list for later.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

I can’t wait to see what you think when you get the opportunity, Mary. 🙂

Angela (Angel's Guilty Pleasures)

Awesome review. I love Mercy and this series. It’s so fun to re-listen to the books for the read-along.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Yes, I was glad to join the group read this year b/c this is a favorite series. Thanks, Angela!

Greg
4 months ago

I just skimmed because I haven’t read this yet, but I liked the first one and have been meaning to keep on with this series. 🙂

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Greg

Oh yes! It only gets better, Greg. 🙂

Rachel @Waves of Fiction

I’ve listened to this series twice, and reading your review makes me want to start all over again! There are so many little bits here and there that I either had forgotten or didn’t really fully understand that came through when I did a re-read. I suspect I’d feel the same way with another go. Maybe I’ll have to jump in again. 🙂

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Yes, that is exactly what happens with each of my re-reads- re-listens. I notice a point ath didn’t have significance to me before. Join Anne’s reread if you want. 🙂

Angie Elle
4 months ago

I read the first book in this series once years ago, and meant to continue, but I never did. I do want to start this series this year, though. Since finishing Kate Daniels, I’m dying for another good, gritty UF.

Great review! I’m glad you enjoy it as much upon reread. 🙂

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Angie Elle

Oh yes, this is another good one. I think you’ll love Mercy as much as Kate. 🙂

Carole's Random Life in Books

Great review! I think that this is one of those series that is even better on a re-read. There were so many things that I caught the second time through the series and have plans to read it again in the future. Lorelei King does such an amazing job with the narration in this one.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Yes, there were some things that really stood out with re-reading. I really need to do it for the middle books.

Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

A lot of readers seem to love this series so much. I haven’t read it yet, but want to. I enjoy a good love triangle. as long as the person I like get’s chosen at the end. LOL I don’t reread books, (I know, I’m one of the only readers I know that doesn’t,) but you tempt me with how you said you found more details and got more out of the story with each re-read! This series/story sound fabulous! Fantastic Review Sophia!!!

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Yes, this will be an urban fantasy classic in a few years, I think. It’s an enduring and easy to love series for lots of things. I think you’d have a good time with it, Lindy. LOL, yes, maybe that is why I tolerate the love triangle that is present in the first three books- the one I wanted got picked. 🙂

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
4 months ago

It’s been a long time since I read her and I think I need to look into this series. Thanks Sophia Rose

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

You really do, Debbie. It has always been a series that I just flew through every book and lost sleep several times when I could not stop reading. 🙂

Carole Rae
4 months ago

Fun! I really need to try this author. I see her stuff everywhere.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

Yep, she’s a must-read when you’re in the mood for urban fantasy. 🙂

Melliane
4 months ago

I really enjoy this series

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Melliane

Isn’t it some of the best urban fantasy ever? 🙂

Lover of Romance
4 months ago

I am really late to the UF game honestly….and this series has been on my list ….I believe I have book one on my romanceopoly challenge for the year.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Oh cool! I love how that challenge gets me reading some older backlisted books. I have a feeling you’ll enjoy this series, Renee. 🙂

Jen
Jen
4 months ago

Oh my gosh – I totally forgot about Samuel hanging out so much in the early books. I really need to re-read this series. I’ve only reread a couple. I’m so excited for the next one! Thanks for the review.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Jen

Yeah, he was a strong fixture for the first three and then didn’t come on strong until his own side story in a later book. It’s fun to go back to the early ones. I am blanking on a few of the middle ones so I’m glad to do the re-read.

Carole Rae
4 months ago

I have the same feelings about love triangles. Glad it didn’t stomp all over the story.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

Yes, if they have to be there, I like them like this one. 🙂

Karen
4 months ago

I skimmed this because I have only read the first and need to catch up. I bought the series up to that point at the Borders closing sale – so that’s how long I’ve had them lol

Karen @ For What It’s worth

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Karen

Borders… le sigh! I miss that store.

Fun that you still have the series to look forward to, Karen. 🙂

Anne - Books of My Heart

Excellent review, Sophia! I’m loving the reread because I am remembering things and seeing things I didn’t the first time. Plus it’s been about 10 years since I read the early books. Thank you so much for joining on the Read-along. I think it is such a fun thing but I realize it is a commitment for people to join me.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Yes, its fun to have stuff jump out and seem brand new. It’s the middle of the released books in the series that I can’t for the life of me remember. I’m looking forward to everything after book four. 🙂

Lover of Romance
4 months ago

What a great review Sophia. With each review of these books you are making me so much more curious. And these pack dynamics are so fascinating even with the love triangle but I am SO willing to risk it seeing how much you love this series.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Oh good, I think this is an extra special urban fantasy series and she goes the extra mile with the cultural background of her supernatural races.
The love triangle comes to a head in the next book and that is really the end of it. And, it is also not that strong of an element in the books leading up to Iron Kissed so I didn’t have to bother with it for that long. 🙂