Review: Branded by Fire by Nalini Singh

Posted June 21, 2021 by Sophia Rose in Audio Delight, Reviews / 16 Comments

Tags: , , , , ,

Review: Branded by Fire by Nalini Singh
Branded by Fire
Narrated by Angela Dawe

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-flames


Series: Psy-Changeling #6
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Published by Tantor Audio
Released on August 9, 2011
Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
add to goodreads

The Delight

Angela Dawe owns this series, the characters, the world, and each individual story. Granted, I am enjoying a re-read of the series from the beginning and discovering how much I have forgotten and how much I better understand about what is going on at the time after progressing through to later books as well as sometimes forming a different opinion from the first read.

Review

Branded by Fire is the sixth book in the closely connected Psy-Changeling series of books and does not work standalone or out of order.

 

For this year’s readalong, I continue to progress through a series that it has been a bit since I read.  I’ve enjoyed refreshing my memory, but also adding a new nuance by experiencing it in audio format for the first time.  Most of my opinion was about the change with one exception.  In this instance, I found myself not as frustrated with Mercy and more mellow toward the sizzling romance in general because I was equally taken with all the series plot threads about the psy situation, the changelings trying to hold the line, the humans first rising in power, the mystery, and of course the amazing characters and romance.

 

All of it was fascinating and stood the test of time with this re-listen.

Original Review:
Branded by Fire may be book six of a series, but I think it is solid evidence that the author definitely knows how to mix things up a bit to keep her series fresh and fascinating for her readers. This one tackles the story of two dominant changlings, Mercy from Dark River pack and Riley from Snow Dancer pack. A cat and a wolf, two who won’t submit to the other, a wolf who must protect after all his losses and a cat who won’t give up being a sentinel to be kept safe- yeah, fiery romance for sure. But then there are the psy intrigues and the human’s first groups that have made the world a whole lot interesting.

I’ve liked Mercy since I met her earlier in the series and I definitely have enjoyed Riley’s big brother antics with his little sister and her mating. I knew there would be lots of sizzle. But truthfully, it took me a little while to get behind Mercy in this one. I get that the author was trying to establish her as a dominant ‘take no crap- give in to no man’ type. It’s a delicate thing to have your heroine balance on the edge of being strong female or just a female with a jerk attitude who makes everything about dominance. Mercy led with her chin out and it was only as I settled into the story that her nature stepped back from crossing over that line. Later on when she pushed Riley to open up and when she reacted to his over-protectiveness, I thought she was magnificent.

Mercy and Riley demonstrated good strong growth and I loved seeing what they brought to a romance and working partnership.

There is all sorts of plots and intrigue swirling around the packs and I found the mystery pretty good. There are so many characters and minor story threads that I would like to pursue in future. Looking forward to each new installment in the series.

Challenges Met

Library Love #7
Mt. TBR #65
Audio #50

About Nalini Singh

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
16 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
1 month ago

I really need to read some of her PR books Sophia Rose, thanks for sharing and welcome back Delighted Reader

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Oh yes, this PsyChangeling series and her Guild Hunter one with angels are both fabulous. 🙂 Woohoo! Glad to be here. 🙂

Mary Kirkland
1 month ago

That sounds really good. I stopped reading the Psy Changeling series a while back. Maybe I should try to get back into it.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

I heartily agree, Mary. 🙂 I’m loving my revisit even more than the first time through.

Lorna
Lorna
1 month ago

I think I listened to at least one or two of these and I think I liked the narration as well. So great to listen after you’ve read a book, I do it a lot. It does really bring a lot to the story.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Lorna

Yes, I think Angela Dawe is giving the stories further depth than I remember from print only. 🙂

Nadene
1 month ago

A series I need to start if only I can find the time.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Nadene

For sure! Hopefully, time will come for you at some point, Nadene. 🙂

Anne - Books of My Heart

I am enjoying the Read-along. Thanks for joining us in the read-along. Terrific review!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago

Same here! Fun reading/listening to these again.

Jen
Jen
1 month ago

I wonder how my original opinions would adjust and change with a re-read. This was one of my favorites for a very long time – I’ve read it at least three times, but not for years now.

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Jen

It’s interesting to do the re-listen and review, but then go back and read my original thoughts. Sometimes there isn’t much change, but sometimes there is a big difference.

Carole Rae
1 month ago

eeee! I love her books

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

Oh yes, I am thrilled to be doing a re-listen.

Rachel
1 month ago

I really enjoyed Mercy and Riley’s story, too. It’s one of my favorites so far. I need to start the next one before my library copy expires!

Sophia Rose
1 month ago
Reply to  Rachel

They were a sizzling pair and were as good as I anticipated. I finished the next one and there are some interesting situations that are coming closer to a head.