Review: Caressed by Ice by Nalini Singh

Posted February 27, 2021 by Sophia Rose in Audio Delight, Reviews / 24 Comments

Tags: , , , ,

Review: Caressed by Ice by Nalini Singh
Caressed by Ice
Narrated by Angela Dawe

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
three-flames


Series: Psy-Changeling #3
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Published by Tantor Audio
Released on June 22, 2011
Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
add to goodreads

The Delight

Fire and Ice!  That is how I think of the she-wolf and the deadly Psy who dance around each other and create some amazing sparks.  Re-listening to this series for the Books of My Heart Readalong continues to have me eager to pick up each new installation in the series.

Review

Caressed by Ice is the third installment in the series that work best read in order.  When I saw that two intriguing characters that were part of the first two books were to get their story, I was down for that.  The story does many things including following up some disturbing events in book one, ongoing troubles within the Psy race and between the Psy and Changeling races, and offering up a tough fought opposites romance.

Judd Lauren is the ice-cold Psy gone rogue with his family living with the wolf changelings who gave them sanctuary.  Judd is barely tolerated and feared because the changelings know a lethal predator when they meet one even if they don’t know exactly how much darkness surrounds him.  Judd’s Psy designation is secret as are the nature of his gifts- telepathic and telekinetic .  He was one of the elite Arrow assassins.  He is one who must embrace Silence for the safety of everyone around him because his gifts unleashed would destroy easily.

Brenna barely survived being captured by a Psy sociopath who was telepathic and now is just picking up the pieces.  Very few in the pack, including her annoying over-protective brothers, are allowed near her.  It is disturbing to her that the unemotional and untouchable Judd is one of those few.  His darkness does not scare her.  He has helped her, but he wants to keep his distance.  Brenna pushes to keep him close.  She can’t explain why she wants to break through his icy Silence, but she does.

Meanwhile, a ghost works to sabotage the Psy council’s plans for a Protocol implant that would further enslave the race, intruders trespass on the Snow Dancer pack land, and someone has murdered one of their own and is stalking Brenna.  Judd now works with the Ghost, but his attention is divided as he has a need to protect the brave she-wolf even as she is determined to prove that she can take care of herself.

I just knew that Judd and Brenna’s story would be riveting for me.  I loved the idea of this pair together.  The earlier psy characters had non-lethal psy gifts so I was curious about Judd.  Then there is Brenna who was nearly broken and has come back a long way.  Fun how a book about an unemotional character can still be sweltering and passionate and neat how she can break her characters and have them rebuild themselves even stronger.  Kudos to Nalini Singh for that.

Angela Dawe has her finger on the pulse of this series and continues to narrate the characters beautifully.  She gives the Psy their emotionless voices without making them lose their human individuality and she gives voice to growing cast of wonderful characters of all races and personalities.

Things in the overall series are really getting interesting.  I can’t wait to see what happens next and who will get their story.

Challenges Met

Mt TBR #31
Audio #14
Library Love #3

About the Book
CARESSED BY ICE BY NALINI SINGH

Brenna, a she-wolf Psy, was abducted by a serial killer – and returned a monster. The only person who can help her is Judd, a telekinetic and Council defector. But the passion burning between them could push them both over the edge of sanity in the third installment in Singh’s breathtaking Psy-Changeling series.

About Nalini Singh

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
24 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Iza
Iza
8 months ago

I don’t even have to look at the review I wrote when I read it to remember that one – Judd was my favourite. You make me want to re-read the series 😉

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Iza

I have three favorites in this series and Judd’s story is one of them. Fun to help you enjoy them in your memories, Iza.

Felicity Grace Terry
8 months ago

Definitely books I’ll be adding to my list. That the author ‘gives the Psy their emotionless voices without making them lose their human individuality’ hugely appeals to me .

Sophia Rose
8 months ago

Oh yes, she is a talented narrator. Hope you enjoy the Psy-Changeling world when you get the chance, Felicity.

Anne - Books of My Heart

This was a good installment. I love how we keep getting more of the world also.

Sophia Rose
8 months ago

Yes, the broadening world is more obvious to me this go around. Love it!

Jen
Jen
7 months ago

YES! I love how Nalini can take these “unemotional” Psy men and give them passion. I recall really enjoying this one when I read it. Thanks, Sophia!

Sophia Rose
7 months ago
Reply to  Jen

So much undercurrent sizzle going on there. Sigh… One of my series favorites.

Mary Kirkland
7 months ago

One of these days I’ll read more of her books.

Sophia Rose
7 months ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Like saving a good dessert. You are going to love these, Mary. 🙂

Melliane
7 months ago

It’s an author that I need to read more about. Everyone loves her books

Sophia Rose
7 months ago
Reply to  Melliane

Oh yes, she’s a fun one, Melliane. 🙂

Genesis @ Whispering Chapters

I have YET to read a book by this author! I know I need to fix it ASAP.

Genesis @ <a href=”http://www.whisperingchapters.com/2021/03/thats-wrap-february.html”>Whispering Chapters</a>

Sophia Rose
7 months ago

I think you’d really enjoy her books, Genesis. 🙂 I’d like to see what you think about this series.

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
7 months ago

Great review Pal. You know I’ve only ever read her general fiction novels but I keep seeing you and my other friends review these and I just know I’m missing out. And wow what a varied cast of paranormal characters

Sophia Rose
7 months ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Thanks, Debbie! Yes, her paranormals are definitely on par with her general fiction. You’d enjoy the worlds she creates along with the mysteries and characters. 🙂

Carole Rae
7 months ago

Can’t wait to read this one!

Sophia Rose
7 months ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

I think it’s one of my top three in the series. Love it. Hope you do, too, Carole

Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Gads, this is what I’ve read of the series, even though I own the next 3. Glad you are loving them too. I really need to pick it back up.

Sophia Rose
7 months ago

Oh yes, you have a gem waiting for you. I’m enjoying my reread/listen and look forward to seeing your thoughts when you jump back in, Kimberly.

Rachel
7 months ago

Fire and Ice, yes! Perfect way to describe Judd and Brenna! I loved this, too. This reminds me I need to put in for the next book so I can keep up with the read-along! Wonderful review, Sophia Rose! 🙂

Sophia Rose
7 months ago
Reply to  Rachel

Thanks, Rachel! They’re a great couple.

I’ve been getting the series from the library so I have to request each next in series, too.

Carole @ Carole's Random Life in Books

I really do need to read this series. It sounds like something that I would really enjoy.

Sophia Rose
7 months ago

Most definitely, Carole! You will love it. 🙂