Review: Changeless by Gail Carriger

Posted July 26, 2017 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 29 Comments

Tags: , , , ,

Review: Changeless by Gail Carriger
Changeless

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
three-flames


Series: The Parasol Protectorate #2
Genres: Steampunk Romance, Urban Fantasy
Published by Orbit
Released on April 4, 2014
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
add to goodreads


The Delight

Continuing on with this series has been a good time.  A unique urban fantasy steampunk with a suspenseful twist is a fun mash-up not to be missed.  The heroine is a tartar and keeps everyone on their toes.


Review

Changeless is book two in the Parasol Protectorate series.  These are an ongoing cast of characters with some ongoing plot threads even if new conflicts come with each book so they are best read in order.

In this installment, Alexia and Conall have been enjoying a bit of peace getting used to marriage and getting over the events from last book.  He is working his supernatural agency policing and Alexia is now a secret government minister for Queen Victoria on the Shadow Council.  But then events happen and they are pulled two separate direction while on the same mission.

I enjoyed this sequel more than the first if possible because I already was familiar with the urban fantasy- steampunk world the characters inhabit.  Alexia is still her confident, capable, abrasive self that only her husband and a few friends see value in.  Her biting wit is a weapon in its own right, but she now also has a fancy new parasol weapon her husband ordered for her.  She is thought a danger to other supernaturals, but not weak.  I loved seeing her in action and on a mission with a few new characters, but Lord Akeldama the flamboyant vampire is still there and livens every scene he’s in.  Her whiny, vindictive family is also still there to throw a spanner in the works.

I enjoyed following along on her cases and all the action and suspense both figuring out what is affecting all the British supernaturals and where her husband disappeared to.  Her best friend, Ivy could get on my nerves a bit because she gets flaky, but she is harmless and funny, too.

Things ended on an ominous note with Alexia personally and I can’t wait to see what comes of that.  I have hope that what was broken will be fixed with time, but the next installment will definitely test Alexia’s fortitude in ways a good mission adventure can’t.  I have a feeling this series will just become more addicting as I go.  The steampunk is more present in this one, but so does the urban fantasy world so I can heartily recommend it to those who enjoy books in both camps.


Challenges

Romance Roundabout #194 SP
Mt. TBR #88
COYER #26


Recommendations

Review Evernight by Kristen Callihan Review Gilded Lily by Delphine Dryden Review A Study in Ashes by Emma Jane Holloway

Preview

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
29 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
3 years ago

I love UF mixed with Steampunk and really enjoyed a WWII series a while ago by Clay Griffith
going on my list Sophia Rose, great review!!!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Oh neat. I will have to look up that Clay Griffith series because I loved a different one he did.

Karen
Karen
3 years ago

I haven’t finished this series yet but it’s a lot of fun and I’ve been keeping up with all the spin off novellas she’s been writing.

For What It’s Worth

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Karen

Spin-offs? I will have to find them because I will definitely want more the way I’m loving it, too, Karen. 🙂

Lover Of Romance
3 years ago

I actually do enjoy seeing the mix of both of these genres, and I have been meaning to try this author out. Glad to see that you enjoyed this one.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

Well worth it, Renee. They are so fun and witty like the classics, but a splash of supernatural and gadgetry too.

Angela @ Simply Angela

I need to get to these ones. I’ve had them on my list for years and your review just reminded me that I need to actually read them.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

Haha, glad I could give you a reminder poke, Angela. 🙂

Mary Kirkland
3 years ago

Oh wow, that sounds quite interesting. Great review.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Lots of fun, Mary. The take on the supernaturals like the vamps and weres is clever.

RO
RO
3 years ago

I’m not sure that I would have picked this one up on my own Sophia, but your review makes it sound pretty neat, and that cover is really cool. I could see myself wearing a hat like that. Hugs…

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  RO

Haha, she has a friend who is crazy about outlandish hats in these, Ro. Its a fun series.

Melissa (Books and Things)

I have these on my tbr and need to get to them. I’ve read her YA spin-off and a couple of the spin-off novellas but not this one. I’m strange I know. 😀

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

You have a treat waiting, Melissa. I need to read the YA’s next since they are about this heroine’s daughter. And the novellas, too. 🙂

Carole's Random Life
3 years ago

I have this series but haven’t ever read it. To be honest, I kind of forgot about it. It sounds amazing and I think I may need to dust it off and give it a read very soon. Great review!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

Oh man, I have so many like that. It’s embarrassing how thick the dust is on some of them. Thanks, Carole! It is a fun one so hope you like it.

Melliane
3 years ago

When I finished book 1 I didn’t expect book 2 to be as good but I had a great time with it and with the others. I still need to finish the last book I think but well… the spin off series is nice too with the children but not as good as this one

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Melliane

Oh how fun! Glad you enjoyed them, too. I hope to read the spin-offs, the novellas, and the prequel series when I’m done with these.

Alyssa Susanna
3 years ago

Omg the first line of the synopsis is hilarious! Well it sucks for her and husband but it’s funny, how it is put. 😀 Is this a companion series, or a continuous series? I do love steampunk, and I would love to read more urban fantasy. I’m glad you enjoyed this book, Sophia!

Have a great day. =)

Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Alyssa Susanna

That opening line exactly sets the tone for the series. These books are a hoot, Alyssa!

This is a continuous series of five books.

Thanks, Alyssa!

Cyn @ Bookmunchies
3 years ago

Yay! I’m so glad you loved this! This series is so much fun! (Though I admit I haven’t read the last book because I’ve been saving it/won’t want it to end haha). Alexis & Conall forever! Great review!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

Haha, Cyn! I’ve sandbagged on the final books of series, too, for the same reason. 🙂 I’ve just learned in another comment that there are novellas so I’ll definitely be hunting those down, too.

Anna@herding cats&burning soup

It’s always awesome when the follow up is even more enjoyable than the first. I need to start these. I’ve read her YA that’s connected to these but so far not the adult version. So happy you’re enjoying these!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

Oh yes, very happy news. book three continued the trend and I hope to get to book four soon. Those YA’s are about this pair’s daughter so now I’m eager to get them and some side characters in this series that I like are also in the prequels about the finish school. Annnd, I learned there are novellas. 🙂 So I’m fixed up good to keep loving on things for a while.

Rachel @Waves of Fiction

I listened to the first book a long time ago and it was excellent! I was a little hesitant to continue because I heard there’s some relationship drama. I should just go for it because everyone seems to love the series. Great review, Sophia Rose! 🙂

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

You did hear right that there are relationship issues, but it is handled vastly differently from 99% of the angsty hot mess types out there. I think you’d still enjoy things if you loved book one. I’ve read through book three where the stuff is addressed and it was a side-line compared to the adventure and Alexia’s usual flare. 🙂

Thanks, Rachel!

Rachel @Waves of Fiction
Reply to  Sophia Rose

Glad to hear it! I will definitely get back to the series, then! 🙂

vvb reads
3 years ago

Glad to hear you enjoyed this one. I love Gail’s sense of humor in her books.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  vvb reads

Thanks, Velvet! Oh yes, these have me laughing and smiling. She does a great job of witty dialogue and blend with other elements.