Review: Heartless by Gail Carriger

Posted August 11, 2017 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 31 Comments

Tags: , , , ,

Review: Heartless by Gail Carriger
Heartless

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
two-flames


Series: The Parasol Protectorate #4
Genres: Steampunk Romance, Urban Fantasy
Published by Orbit
Released on July 7, 2011
Pages: 374
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
add to goodreads

The Delight

A fabulous mash-up of urban fantasy and steampunk and the installment where I finally discover the origin of the series title.  Along with a pregnant heroine attempting to manage affairs as usual like whispers of an assassination on the Queen and disruptions in the werewolf pack and Lord Akeldama’s household.

Review

Making my way through this series that must be read in order in an unhurried binge has been delightful from cover to cover.  Alexia is a managing sort and now she’s eight months along and still attempting to manage and interfere to the best of her ability.

I confess that though I enjoyed this one quite a lot; I also found it a slow mover until nearer the end.  It had a tendency to plod along through domestic concerns paranormal style though thankfully with the low angst that this series is known for.  Patience is required through much, but the reader is definitely rewarded as all the slower moving pulls together at last and the end is the zany antics that I love to see the characters engaging in.

The witty dialogue, mission, and scintillating characters were all present though there wasn’t as much husband and wife acrimonious banter between Conall and Alexia that I love.  The reveals on the past particularly to do with Professor Lyall was great to get.

And now, I prepare for the final book in the series that is staying strong and keeping me coming back for more.  Can’t recommend these enough for those who enjoy or don’t mind elements of urban fantasy and steampunk together.

Challenges

Romance Roundabout #146 SP
COYER #29

Recommendations

 Steam Me Up Rawley by Angela Quarles 

Preview

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
31 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lexxie
2 years ago

Oh this does sound delightful, Sophia! I haven’t read any steampunk in a long time, so I’m way overdue. I love binge-reading series 🙂

Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Lexxie

I got away from it and then was determined that I would continue and finish this series this year because I loved book one last year. 🙂 I think I’m a big fan of mashing steampunk with other genres the most.

Lexxie
2 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

Genre mash-ups are the best!

Jenea Whittington
2 years ago

I need some steampunk in my life! And this sounds right up my alley. I will have to check out the first few books and see if I can get them from my library. Great review!

Jenea’s Book Obsession

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Hey, hey, glad to point you toward some steampunk that grabs your interest, Jenea! 🙂

Sharonda
2 years ago

you are moving through this series! love it 😀

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Sharonda

I really am. Usually I’m not a binge reader, but I devoured three in a row. One more left…

🙂

kimbacaffeinate
2 years ago

You’ve been having a blast with this series. I love your power to binge.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Oh, you know it. 🙂 One more left… 🙁

Mary Kirkland
2 years ago

Glad your liking the series.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Oh yes! It has been my summer indulgence, Mary. 🙂

Lola
2 years ago

I read the first book in this series, but never continued the series. I do think i enjoyed it, but it didn’t hook me that much that I was in a hurry to continue. I am glad to hear you’re still enjoying this series. I can really enjoy a slower paced book when well written. I hope you’ll enjoy the final book just as much!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Lola

I know what you mean about having a book be okay, but not really grab me enough to want to continue with a series.
Oh yes, I am enjoying this one.

Thanks, Lola!

Vanessa
2 years ago

I’ve been loving the steampunk books you’ve reviewed lately Sophia. I think I can’t hold it anymore and get my own copies hehe, with S 😉

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Vanessa

Yay! Glad I could tempt you to try them, Vanessa. 🙂 Hope you like them.

Rachel @Waves of Fiction

Okay, I finally downloaded a copy of book 2 from the library after seeing this review. You’ve convinced me, especially with the comment of “low angst”. Wonderful review, Sophia Rose! 🙂

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Crossing my fingers you’ll like it, Rachel.

Yes, the low angst is a big sell for me, too, Rachel!

Braine TS
2 years ago

I read this series more for the witty dialogue (and Ivy’s hats) than anything. Lmao!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Braine TS

Oh my glands, yes, Ivy’s hats. LOL

RO
RO
2 years ago

I really enjoy witty conversations, but a slow mover will usually cause me to DNF these days. One again, I love the outfit! Happy Sunday! Hugs…RO

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  RO

I hear you. I don’t have enough patience at times for slow movers. I do love the striking outfits on these covers.

Thanks, Ro! Enjoy your week!

Lover Of Romance
2 years ago

oh this one sounds fantastic here. I have been wanting to pick up this author for quite some time, and need more steampunk in my life. Great review hun.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

These are great so far, Renee. I took awhile to get to these, but it worked out good so I don’t have to wait between the releases. 🙂

Alyssa Susanna
2 years ago

Ooo, another Gail Carriger! I love watching your progress with this series. The heroine is eight months pregnant???? Go her! Pregnant women are superheros, in my opinion. 😀 Wonderful review, Sophia!

Have a lovely week. =)

Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Alyssa Susanna

Yep! I’m still blazing through the series, Alyssa. LOL One more left in this series, but then I’ll have the newer prequel series and the sequel spin-offs. 🙂

Thanks, Lady! You, too.

Karen
Karen
2 years ago

I still haven’t read the last one but it’s such a fun series. I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Karen

I’m ready for the last one. I hope to slip it in after I get caught back up on my review commitments. Thanks, Karen!

Melanie Simmons
2 years ago

I still haven’t tried a steampunk series yet. I really need to. Great review.

Melanie @ Hot Listens & Rabid Reads

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Really? Oh, you are in for a treat. I think you would love a few that do a mash up of PNR or UF and Steampunk. Those are some of my favorites.

Anna@herding cats&burning soup

An unhurried binge. I like that 😀 I’m so glad you’re enjoying these, Sophia!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Haha, yes. It’s the closest I come to binging these days. Disappointment happens when I attempt regular binges. I’m hoping to get to the final book this month then maybe I’ll try the other related series by her.