Review: Jagged Edge by Kendall Talbot

Posted November 23, 2020 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 12 Comments

Tags: , , , ,

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Jagged Edge by Kendall Talbot
Jagged Edge

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
two-flames


Series: Edge Malone #1
Genres: Mystery Romance, Romantic Suspense
Published by Indie/Self Published
Released on September 29, 2020
Pages: 308
Format: eARC
Source: Author
add to goodreads

The Delight

A peaceful night of photographing the moon and a time of reflection turns into a breath-stealing rush of terror.  After the page-turning excitement of the author’s previous adventure romances, I was keen to pick up this standalone thriller and dive into some more pulse-pounding extreme entertainment.


Review

Edge Malone has been on leave from the San Francisco police force trying to get his head on straight.  Pursuing an interest in photography seems like a harmless and peaceful hobby until a drone streaks out of the night sky nearby and he witnesses two harmless campers get murdered in the killer’s need to retrieve the drone.  Edge doesn’t hesitate to snatch the drone and get out of the line of fire.  His mad dash to safety accidentally drags Nina, a waitress at a nearby diner in his wake.  Nina is tougher than expected and they just might survive long enough to discover the secrets behind the drone that are worth killing and covering up for.

Nina Hamilton is looking after her mom’s diner while her mom is on a much needed vacation and it’s her time to get away from her life and contemplate the direction when a horrid incident with a trucker is closely followed by a wounded man leading a killer right to her.  She ends up on the run for her life with Edge and discovers that life isn’t so dull after all when at the side of the right guy while working a case off the books.  What they discover shows the far-reaching network of conspiracy that reaches farther than the nearby small town but has it’s roots in the town’s past.

Jagged Edge launches into action from the early pages and barely comes up for air until the click of the last page.  There is a mystery to solve, a romance slowly percolating, two people hurting from their pasts that need healing, and the ever-driving beat of a multiple person danger on their trail.  I love this sort of book and whipped through the pages swiftly.

Both Edge and Nina are strong characters with smarts and skills.  They were electrifying the way they melded as a partnership and I loved the spicy hints of attractions that they wisely didn’t act on when running for their lives and working through their pasts.  Both have heartbreaking things that they draw out from each other and quietly lend understanding and strength over.  I loved them together and really hope there are more books with then working together and working on a relationship.

As a whole and looking back, there is much that is far-fetched, but the author has a gift for keeping the reader in the moment and dashing right along with her characters.  I finished this book quickly because of this reason.  There was some good action scenes and some moments of luck or stupidity on the part of the villains.
Speaking of villains, one gets to be the third point of view along with Edge and Nina.  I have mixed feelings about this.  It is a way to explain what is going on with the villains, but it also gave early answers that I think might have been more suspenseful to discover as Edge and Nina solved the mystery.  Not that there was no suspense.  The tension was quite taunt and I was figuratively biting my nails a few times.
There ends up being some extra twists and a grand climax in the end with a few loose threads and open-ended hints that there can be more in a series.

All in all, it was abso-fab and just what I expect from a favorite author.  Those who love adrenaline-pounding romantic suspense or thriller romance should definitely give this standalone story a go.

My thanks to the author for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.


Challenges Met

New Release #183


About the Book
Jagged Edge by Kendal TalbotJAGGED EDGE BY KENDALL TALBOT

A grieving detective with nothing to lose.

A dying town with everything to hide.

After the shocking death of his daughter, suspended detective Edge Malone seeks oblivion in a bottle and plans to photograph a rare blood moon in isolated Whispering Hills, Montana. But his night takes a deadly turn when a high-tech drone is shot from the sky—and a ruthless gunman murders an innocent bystander who dares to visit the crash site. Driven by instinct, Edge seizes the drone and escapes into the woods.

Now being hunted, Edge unwittingly thrusts Nina Hamilton into the chase—a street-smart beauty who is no stranger to men with dangerous motives. But when the drone data leads them to a shocking discovery, they quickly learn that no one in Whispering Hills can be trusted. The truth of the small town is anything but quiet, and the price of secrets runs six-feet deep…

Jagged Edge is a full-length, stand-alone thriller that will have you turning the pages all night long.

Fans of Robert Ludlum’s Jason Bourne, Tim Tigner’s Kyle Achilles, L.T. Ryan’s Jack Noble, Jeff Carson’s David Wolf, Lee Child’s Jack Reacher, and Steven Konkoly’s Ryan Decker will enjoy this pulse-pounding thriller.


Preview

 

About Kendall Talbot

Brisbane author Kendall Talbot’s used to daydream about robbing the bank she worked in. Thanks to her husband’s gift of writing lessons in 2008 she decided to write about it instead.

An adrenaline junkie and mum of two Kendall says, “I love the idea of screaming and the feeling you get when you are about to jump.” Now-a-days she gets the same rush writing action adventure scenes.

Her debut novel “Lost in Kakadu” won the Australian Romantic Book of the Year in 2014. Amongst the great reviews Kendall was quizzed on how to make the famous “bra slingshot’ that featured in the book.
Rosalina, the heroine in Kendall’s new book “Treasured Secrets” is a chef in Tuscany and the Greek Islands. Food, flavours and romance sustain our heroine as ruthless competition will do anything to prevent her from solving a 700 year mystery to a great missing treasure.

Recipes from “Treasured Secrets” debut in their own book “Rosalina’s Treasured Treats” you can cook along as you read the book.

Next on Kendall’s hit list is the Crime novel she’s long dreamed of. Yes she’s robbing that bank! Set in Brisbane in 1992 “Double Take” is scheduled for release September 2015.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
12 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Nadene
8 months ago

My kind of book. Exciting and intense.

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Nadene

Her books really get your blood pressure pumping, Nadene. 🙂

Anne - Books of My Heart

Excellent review! I haven’t heard of this author but this sounds like a book I would love.

Sophia Rose
8 months ago

Yes, I think you would. I’ve been a big fan since her debut book. 🙂

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
8 months ago

Thanks for sharing and I love that cover!

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Same here! It matches the tone of the story so well, Debbie.

Melliane
8 months ago

It’s been a while since I haven’t read a book like that and it looks good so why not!

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Melliane

For sure, it’s an exciting one. 🙂

Carole Rae
8 months ago

Fun!! 😀

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

I can’t wait for book two.

Lola
8 months ago

That sure sounds like a fast paced and action packed read with a lot going on. I like the sound of how both characters are smart and capable, I like that in a book. Sounds like they make for a good couple too. Having the villains point of view can sometimes work, but other times I feel it kills a bit of the mystery and suspense as you get that information. Glad to hear this was a solid read!

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Lola

Yes, smart characters in a thriller make it so much better. I can’t wait for book two.