Review: Judgment in Death by J.D. Robb

Posted March 2, 2020 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 34 Comments

Tags: ,

Review: Judgment in Death by J.D. Robb
Judgment in Death

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-flames


Series: In Death #11
Genres: Futuristic Romance, Romantic Suspense
Published by Berkley
Released on March 3, 2007
Pages: 372
Format: eBook
Source: Library
add to goodreads


The Delight

Has it really been over a year since I left off with this series?  Jumping back in was like slipping into a comfy pair of jeans.  I loved going back into Lt. Eve Dallas’ gritty, dangerous and sensual futuristic romantic suspense world.


Review

Judgment in Death is the eleventh installment in a series of not-quite standalone books.  Each mystery is self-contained, but there are ongoing relationship and character threads that work best in order.

Dallas gets the call for a brutal murder at a strip club and it isn’t long before she learns that the victim is a cop and the club is her husband’s.  But that is only the starter’s gun for a case that gets into police corruption, inter-department politics, and a crime boss that Rourke has a past with.  Dallas is tough and bleeds police blue, but she takes some hard hits and some from within her own marriage before she learns that she won’t be going it alone nor standing out front with Roarke hiding behind her.  With the help of Finney, Peabody, McNab and Roarke she takes on all comers to track down an avenging killer and take down the crime boss before he can get her.

Judgment in Death presents a brutal killing right off the bat and dark deeds come to the surface to provide a suspenseful case.   There were some great action scenes and confrontations at had me on the edge of my seat.

But, as usual, as riveting as that is, it is Eve herself still growing and still figuring out people and relationships even while demonstrating her detecting skills and a spine of steel to deal with what gets thrown at her that really makes this book shine.  She tries to manage Roarke and make unilateral decisions because, for the first time in her life, she has someone else that means everything to her and she can’t lose him. It miffs her when he ends around her because he’s just as strong and stubborn of spirit and feels the same way about her that she feels about him.

Eve Dallas is the central figure, but there is no neglect to the usual cast of characters including the sexy, ruthless and enigmatic Roarke.  I love the light affection and loyal camaraderie Eve shares with her co-worker friends and Mavis.  They all do their part to work the case, support and protect Eve.  Peabody and McNab crack some fun jokes and are still circling around each other.

The mystery itself isn’t hard to work out and probably wasn’t meant to be since the focus was on the emotional and character-driven side as much as the action suspense.  Though, that said, this one was pretty balanced with both.  There are a few twists.

All in all, it was another brilliant time with the In Death series and I am not intimidated at all by the long series list.  I’m so glad to have all those still to read.  Those who enjoy sexy romance and gritty suspense in a futuristic setting should not hesitate to grab up this book/series.


Challenges Met

Library Love #5
Literary Pickers #40 elevator


Preview

About J.D. Robb

With a phenomenal career full of bestsellers, Nora Roberts was ready for a new writing challenge. As her agent put it, like Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, and caffeine-free Pepsi, a pseudonym offered her the opportunity to reach a new and different group of readers. The first futuristic suspense J. D. Robb book, Naked in Death, was published in paperback in 1995, and readers were immediately drawn to Eve Dallas, a tough cop with a dark past, and her even more mysterious love interest, Roarke.

The series quickly gained attention, great reviews, and devoted readers. Since the debut of Loyalty in Death (the ninth In Death book) on Halloween 1999 on the New York Times bestseller list, every J. D. Robb title has been a New York Times bestseller. While fans had their suspicions, it wasn’t until the twelfth book in the series, Betrayal in Death (2001), that the publisher fully revealed that J. D. Robb was a pseudonym for bestselling powerhouse Nora Roberts. Unmasked, Nora Roberts fans who hadn’t yet picked up one of the Robb books were quickly playing catch-up.

Robb’s peers in the mystery world are fans as well, with accolades for the In Death series from such blockbuster authors as Stephen King, Jonathan Kellerman, Dennis Lehane, Kathy Reichs, Lisa Scottoline, Janet Evanovich, David Baldacci, Harlan Coben, Robert B. Parker, Ridley Pearson, Linda Fairstein, and Andrew Gross.

The In Death books are perpetual bestsellers, and frequently share the bestseller list with other Nora Roberts novels. J. D. Robb publishes two hardcover In Death books per year, with the occasional stand-alone original In Death story featured in an anthology.

Forty books later, there is no end in sight for the ever-popular In Death series.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
34 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
RO P
5 months ago

I love Nora Roberts so much! It’s amazing to me that as much of a fan as I am of mystery and suspense novels that I’ve never even picked up a J.D. Robb book. What in the world is wrong with me, Super Sophia?(lol) I know I have a long way to go to catch up, but I need to get these in my pile. Great review as always and Happy Monday to you!

Sophia Rose
5 months ago
Reply to  RO P

Nothing wrong with you, bright lady! There are just so many wonderful books out there and Nora Roberts writes sooooo many. You’ll love Eve and Rourke when you get the chance. You have a good one, too. 🙂

Lover of Romance
5 months ago

I honestly really need to get to reading this author. I love seeing character driven stories even if the mystery wasn’t too difficult to work out….sometimes its fun just to be chugging along on the journey

Sophia Rose
5 months ago

Yes, chugging along on the journey is the best part with these. Good call, Renee! 🙂

Nadene
5 months ago

I have plans to start the series this year. I hope I will be able achieve that goal.

Sophia Rose
5 months ago
Reply to  Nadene

Oh fun! I’ll hope for you too and enjoy seeing what you think, Nadene.

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
5 months ago

You’re making progress 😉 Love this series!

Sophia Rose
5 months ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Oh yes, I’m hoping to knock out a few each year. 🙂

Melliane
5 months ago

I have many books in this series but I still need to try them

Sophia Rose
5 months ago
Reply to  Melliane

Ha! There are so many, but hopefully you’ll love them when you get the chance, Melliane. 🙂

sherry fundin
5 months ago

every robb book i’ve read, i’ve loved. feel this would be another great read
sherry @ fundinmental

Sophia Rose
5 months ago
Reply to  sherry fundin

Yeah, eleven books in and there hasn’t been one dud. She writes good stuff, Sherry!

Carole Rae
5 months ago

A year between books is rough. That is why I usually like globbing up a good series all within a few months 😉 I am also not a patient person hahaha.

This sounds good, but I’m not sure it is for me tho

Sophia Rose
5 months ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

Yeah, normally, I can forget a lot in a year so I feel the same way about waiting that long. With this series, the characters are consistent, but the cases are all new so it doesn’t matter if you leave a gap in your reading.

They push me a little to the edge when they get so gruesome so I understand about a book not being for everyone.

Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer

I have to start over, bits of this seem familiar, but I stopped somewhere in the teens.

Sophia Rose
5 months ago

I’m hoping to read a couple each year and someday get close to caught up. I’ve been tracking a few who are doing an In Death challenge so it keeps the previous plots fresh in my mind.

Rachel @Waves of Fiction

I think I left off after book 4? I’d have to check. Good to hear you’re still enjoying it at book 11. There’s a ton more! I think she’s up to book #49 now? The mysteries seemed pretty easy to figure out and I think one of the reasons I stopped is because it was a little unbelievable that Eve didn’t work things out quicker. Especially when she’s touted as such a fantastic detective. As you said, the relationships are a big focus, though, and I did like that aspect of the series.

Sophia Rose
5 months ago

I figure out about 50/50 of these and sometimes Eve drives me batty. I’ve figured out that I can’t binge them and have to just pick one up now and then so I don’t get caught in the formula part of the stories. I agree that there are plenty of times that Eve doesn’t seem as brilliant as she’s touted to be, but at least the surrounding story is solid. 🙂

Mary Kirkland
5 months ago

I haven’t read her books in a long time but I always liked her. This sounds really good. Thanks for the great review.

Sophia Rose
5 months ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

She is still going strong. I doubt I’ll ever run out of her books to read. 🙂 Thanks, Mary!

Lorna
Lorna
5 months ago

I left off at around book 35 or 36 not sure. Every time I read one of your reviews it makes me want to start back to reading them. Just so many books to read before I can go back. Great review Sophia!

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Lorna

Wow, you did get pretty far along. My goal is to read a few each year and maybe some day draw close to her current release. LOL

Jenea’s Book Obsession

This sounds like a series that I need to check out.

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Yes, they are very exciting! I think you’d like them, Jenea.

Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

This sounds like a good series Sophia! I’m glad you’re enjoying these so much, and have many more to look forward to 🙂

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Oh man, I’ll never get caught up, but they sure are good stuff so I don’t mind. 🙂

Maureen @ Maureen's Books

I love J.D. Robb. Although I own the first two books of the series too, I haven’t read them yet. I started reading this series last year with the new books and really loved it. So I haven’t read this one yet. But one day…
I’m glad you enjoyed this one!

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

I’ve jumped around in the series a bit, too, but then a couple years ago finally went back for the first few books to start in order. It’s been fun. You’re in for a treat, Maureen.

sharonda Isadora
4 months ago

oh her husband’s club? oooooooo!

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

Uh huh! The fur can fly in these. LOL

Lola
4 months ago

I love that comfy feeling of returning to a series you like. Sounds like a good suspenseful mystery. I like how you describe the character still evolving and learning throughout this series and I can see how that’s one of the engaging parts of a series like this. Great review!

Sophia Rose
4 months ago
Reply to  Lola

It is great coming back to a favorite. Thanks, Lola!

Anne - Books of My Heart

I love this series so much! I’m up to date having read them all except #50. I have gotten them all at the library. Excellent review! I think every book has been a joy and is as comfortable as yoga pants even. lol

Sophia Rose
4 months ago

LOL, yes they are yoga pants. 🙂 Well done, you! Nearly fifty of them.