Review: Kiss of Snow by Nalini Singh

Posted August 26, 2021 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 12 Comments

Tags: , , ,

Review: Kiss of Snow by Nalini Singh
Kiss of Snow

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-flames


Series: Psy-Changeling #10
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Published by Berkley
Released on May 31, 2011
Pages: 433
Format: eBook
Source: Library
add to goodreads

The Delight

The readalong has progressed so that we have arrived at one of the pivotal couples in the series and I was excited to delve into their story once again.  I forgot how tempestuous and intense this pair could be.  Sienna grows up fully into the woman warrior she was meant to be under our very eyes and an alpha forged in fire and certain in his ways slowly comes to understand her and need her more than anything.  The big payoff scenes of romance and action were off the charts stellar.

Review

My first read impressions were:

I have been anticipating Hawke and Sienna’s story since book one and because of this I was nervous that it would let me down.  But no, this one kept me reading and I had no desire to put it down.

From Hawke’s determination that he could never have a mate since his intended mate had died young plus he saw Sienna as too young and on through Sienna’s own powerful and deadly psy gift that wouldn’t be safe and would probably kill her soon enough, this was a captivating match.  Talk about fighting for and against and, in all that, fighting so hard for love.  It was brilliant.

And if that treat were not enough, there is a secondary romance for Walker, Sienna’s uncle and the Snow Dancer pack healer, Lara.  Loved seeing deserving Lara able to reach through Walker’s Silence and his hidden pain.

But see, there’s more.  We have a certain baby sighting in the Dark River pack.  Check ins with other key side stories.  And- War!  It’s finally boiling over.  Sides are being forced and its going to be ugly.

I am amazed more than I should be at this point with how much this author packs into her books- romance, setting and world, characters, action, and suspense.  I continue to be thirsty for the next installment in the series.

Challenges Met

COYER Seasons #37
Mt. TBR #96
Library Love #12

About Nalini Singh

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

5 1 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
12 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anne - Books of My Heart

Yes this one had it all! It’s brilliant. The other one I am awaiting is Kaleb’s book, even more than this one I think. Excellent review!

Sophia Rose
3 months ago

Thanks! Oh yeah, Kaleb’s book is another big one for me.

Carole @ Carole's Random Life

I really do need to give this series a try. I am so glad that this one worked so well for you!

Sophia Rose
3 months ago

I look forward to seeing what you think, Carole!

Rachel
3 months ago

I’m still waiting on the audio of the previous one before I can get to this one, but I’ve been eagerly anticipating Hawke and Sienna’s story! So happy to see it was a 5 star read!

Sophia Rose
3 months ago
Reply to  Rachel

So hard to be patient when on the library waiting list. But, yes, this one exceeded expectation after all the build up. 🙂

Lover of Romance
3 months ago

I just LOVE this book so much, its one of my favorites of the series. Their antics with each other is so fun. So brilliant.

Sophia Rose
3 months ago

I agree. They really had a special something that was way more than attraction. 🙂

Melanie Simmons
3 months ago

I had a ton of fun with this series. I can’t wait for the next book. Wonderful review.

Sophia Rose
3 months ago

Same here! Always on my most anticipated reads list each year. 🙂

Carole Rae
3 months ago

WAR!!!!!!!
I can’t wait to catch up…someday 😉

Sophia Rose
3 months ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

Yep! We’ve finally reached the boiling over point. 🙂