Review: Mine to Possess by Nalini Singh

Posted March 20, 2021 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 10 Comments

Tags: ,

Review: Mine to Possess by Nalini Singh
Mine to Possess
Narrated by Angela Dawe

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-flames


Series: Psy-Changeling #4
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Published by Tantor Audio
Released on July 11, 2011
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
add to goodreads

The Delight:

Mine to Possess, the fourth in the Psy-Changling series focuses on a romance between one of the wildest of the Dark River leopards and the woman he thought was dead.  Street kids are vanishing, the Psy are in upheaval, and Clay Bennett isn’t sure he wants this second chance opportunity fate has put in his path.

 

Review:
This one started out shaky for me and stayed that way for several chapters.  I just could not like or care about the heroine, Talin.  She was a hot mess and was all over the place with her feelings, words, and actions.  I know that as an abuse survivor and a foster kid to boot, she should have had my support, but since her issues were spilling out all over Clay, after he was already hurt by her choices, yeah, it was an uphill climb to tolerate her let alone want their romance.  But, it did eventually happen.

More is going on beyond Clay and Talin’s romance.  The disappearance of the kids is tied up with other ongoing series plot threads involving the Psy Counsel plans to put Protocol chips in their people to control them and some other deep secrets of the race.  The growing warmer cold war between the races is growing intense as The Ghost operates from within the Psy race and the Changlings work from without.

I love this series and can’t wait to see what happens next.  The world, the cast of characters, and the plot are amazing.

Update with Audio edition re-read for the Books of My Heart Psy-Changeling Readalong
Apparently, I’ve mellowed in the last few years or grown more sensitive to abuse survivor’s plights because I felt milder toward Talin than I did the first time.  Oh, not to say that I thought her choices about letting Clay think she was dead or transferring her issues onto him so that he was treated to fear and rejection at first were okay, but I think I had a better understanding of how troubled she was and had to come to grips with truths she was unaware of.  I also think that many of us, me included would have similar struggles under the same dark and broken circumstances and not come out as strong as she was.

I definitely continue to appreciate the talented work of Angela Dawe as she narrates this book and the whole series.

 

Even though I’m re-reading the series, I am filled with great anticipation for each next installment after finishing the last.  I’ve been reconnecting and enjoying the refresh on these earlier couples and the build of the series arc and world.

 

Challenges Met:

Audio #25

Library Love #5

About Nalini Singh

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
10 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anne - Books of My Heart

Thanks so much for joining us Sophia. This was my favorite so far with so much world-building. It always helps when one can read a series in order over a somewhat shorter time period.

Sophia Rose
29 days ago

I’ve been enjoying getting back into these older books in the series. So much happened between that my memory was fading on them, but also I’m spotting stuff I didn’t spot before that makes better sense now.

Rachel
28 days ago

I just downloaded the audio. I’m a little behind on the read-along, but plan on getting to this one in the next couple of days. I’ll come back to check your thoughts then. 🙂

Sophia Rose
28 days ago
Reply to  Rachel

I saw you got it and look forward to catching your thoughts on it. Yeah, you remind me. I need to catch up on your Wild Sign review now that I’ve finished it.

Jen
Jen
28 days ago

I like seeing how your opinion changed some with the re-read; thanks for including both. I don’t remember a lot about this one, so I’m guessing it wasn’t one of my favorites!

Sophia Rose
28 days ago
Reply to  Jen

It’s interesting that it did. It was not a favorite for me the first time through, but this time around, I wasn’t as down on the heroine and respected her. I remember there are several only okay books for me the first time through before I got to another big favorite so I’m excited to see if that changes this time around.

Mary Kirkland
28 days ago

I’ve been seeing this one on the blogs and it looks good. People are liking it.

Sophia Rose
28 days ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Yes, this series is a big hit. I think I like it even more the second time around. 🙂

Iza
Iza
27 days ago

I remember reading the novel, I remember loving it but I don’t remember Tallin particularly (I re-read my review a few seconds ago to refresh my memory !) but maybe if I re-read it now, I would have a different opinion. Great review, Sophia, as usual 🙂

Sophia Rose
27 days ago
Reply to  Iza

I have been struggling to remember these earliest ones. For several readers, this is a favorite. Paranormal Romance is great with the diverse cast of characters each book so you can find ones you love even if one book wasn’t a favorite. 🙂