Review: Never Look Back by Mary Burton

Posted July 2, 2020 by Lorna in Reviews / 20 Comments

Tags: , , ,

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Never Look Back by Mary Burton
Never Look Back

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-flames


Series: Criminal Profiler #3
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Published by Montlake Romance
Released on July 1, 2020
Pages: 332
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
add to goodreads

The Delight

I discovered Mary Burton’s books about a year ago and have been reading/listening my way through her large body of work. She writes thrillers with female main characters and of course there’s always a romance. Romantic suspense used to be my go to and is rapidly making a comeback in my tbr books. The delight for me is any new book by Mary Burton that I can get my hands on!

Review

Melina Shepherd is an agent with the Tennessee Crime Bureau and works to solve murders or find missing people. After putting herself out there(literally)to solve the case of missing prostitutes she just barely escapes a mad man’s clutches. So of course the FBI sends Special Agent Jerrod Ramsay to try and connect the case to serial murders that he has been dealing with for years. The two end up working together and before it’s over with they’ve discovered that more than one serial killer is at work here. They’ve also discovered each other. Of course, there’s a lot more going on here. Melina has a very interesting back story. Who knew it would come up in the investigation?

I really liked Melina’s character although sometimes she is, shall we say, too curious for her own good? She manages to put herself into precarious situations. She’s the ultimate investigator and immerses herself into her cases to the exclusion of having a personal life. Jerrod was also kind of different. He’s all business and no play. He, too, has no personal life to speak of either. He’s older than Melina and the job of being the leader of his team is weighing on him. It’s unusual for him to be in the field and he is realizing how much he has missed it. They start opening up to each other after rescuing a small child from a wreck. A character named Bonnie was a piece of work. She’s older but could possibly be up to her neck in a serial killer’s world. She cunning and conniving and I wanted to shake her at times. Of course we have suitably horrible villains in the form of serial killers and we get drawn into their world as well.

I’m mostly going to leave it at that about the story. I will say that Burton’s work is always well written, researched and paced. I’ve probably read more than my share of serial killer books and this ranked up there with some of the best for me. The romance is a slow burn and I appreciated that as well. He’s based in Washington D.C., she’s in Nashville. How could that ever work? I enjoyed seeing how everything played out with both the romance and the mysteries.

If you haven’t read Mary Burton yet and like a good romantic suspense book, you are definitely missing out. I rated this 4.25 stars and recommend it to adult readers that enjoy crime drama with romance. FYI-there is some violence and some scenes are not for the squeamish.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I’m a lifetime book addict and currently own nine Kindles, with only six still working. I do tend to wear them out! They pretty much are my favorite technology-well that and my cell phone. Okay, yes and my laptop. I spent most of my life in Kentucky, but moved to Maryland in my attempt to get closer to the the ocean a few years ago. Being retired helps. I have a B.S. degree in law enforcement with a minor in sociology, but never really worked in my major. Instead, I spent my entire adult life working in the medical field in some capacity. After retiring(early), I found my passion in reviewing books for a couple of blogs and I love it. My author favorites include, Dannika Dark, Amber Lynn Natusch, J.T. Geissinger, Colleen Hoover, Samantha Towle, K.A. Tucker, Karina Halle, Sarina Bowen, J.R. Ward, Mariana Zapata, Dianne Duvall, and I could go on and on. I read many different genre’s, but still like a romantic element in most, if not all of them.

Latest posts by Lorna (see all)


Subscribe
Notify of
guest
20 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carole Rae
3 months ago

Mhmmmmmmmhmmmm I am intrigued! I like the sounds of this.

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

I really enjoy all of her books so far.

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
3 months ago

Great review Lorna I also love her work and haven’t read this one its on my list now.

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Thank you! I hope you enjoy this one too.

Ethan
3 months ago

I love a good crime novel, so I’d definitely give this one a read!

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago
Reply to  Ethan

If you read it, I hope you like it!

sherry fundin
3 months ago

oh yeah, great cover with romantic suspense, my favorite
sherry @ <a href=”http://www.fundinmental.com/”> fundinmental</a>

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago
Reply to  sherry fundin

I think you would probably enjoy it then!

Melliane
3 months ago

Oh yes I usually really enjoy her books

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago
Reply to  Melliane

Enjoy if you decide to read this!

Anne - Books of My Heart

I’m also a Mary Burton fan. This series is really a set of standalones but with characters in the FBI except the first one has someone connected to another series. Anyway I enjoy them all. My review for this one is tomorrow. Great review Lorna!

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago

She’s a good writer isn’t she? and Thank you!

Sophia Rose
3 months ago

I think you have me persuaded. LOL I must try her books too. I think I might even have one on my Kindle.

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

Oh, I hope it’s a good one for you! All I have read or listened to have been good.

Sarah @ All The Book Blog Names Are Taken

I still have to post my review of this one, I liked it a lot – though I didn’t realize there was a ‘romance’ aspect – I try to avoid those. But still, I thought this was a really solid story!

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago

I thought it was a romance when the two main characters got together. Sleeping together anyway. At any rate, I’m glad you really liked it as well.

Sarah @ All The Book Blog Names Are Taken
Reply to  Lorna

I meant I did not know about the romance aspect before I started it – though maybe there’s nothing romance-ish about a hook-up? But who knows, maybe they will end up getting married and solving crimes together. I was surprised by the brother.

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago

Oh ok, I didn’t understand. Yes, the brother was a piece of work! And I couldn’t believe why Bonnie wasn’t afraid of him.

Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer

I have enjoyed Burton before, but this and the series look good. You know I love a good romantic suspense. 🙂

Lorna
Lorna
3 months ago

I enjoyed it! I hope you get a chance to try it.