Review: Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

Posted July 19, 2020 by Sophia Rose in Audio Delight, Reviews / 24 Comments

Tags: , , , ,

Review: Night Broken by Patricia Briggs
Night Broken
Narrated by Lorelei King

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
two-half-flames


Series: Mercy Thompson Series #8
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by Brilliance Audio
Released on March 11, 2014
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
add to goodreads


The Delight

It was bound to be.  The build up was subtle and without this being a re-read, I wouldn’t have seen it as inevitable, but the close encounter between Mercy and Christy, Adam’s Ex, arrives at last.  Of course, it couldn’t just be a good old fashioned female squabble- this is Mercy.  She doesn’t play those games and she doesn’t play it by the rules which is why a supernatural stalker, hounds from hell, a bloody serial killer, a demanding fae lord, and more family secrets push Christy lower and lower on Mercy’s to-do list.


Review

Night Broken is the eighth installment in the series of closely-tied urban fantasy adventures for Mercy Thompson.  I will say what I said in my review for Frost Burned.  Readers should treat both the Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega series not separately, but as one world of stories because the parallel series start referencing events from each other and sharing crossover characters.  The events of Fair Game and one of the chief characters play a role in one of the main story threads in Night Broken.

This is my second time through Night Broken and I realized just how much I had forgotten, but also how much I remembered.  Up until this re-listen, I would have sworn that book three was my favorite of the series.  Pretty sure this one rivals it.

I can always count on Patricia Briggs for taking overdone tropes and elements and making me laugh at the outcome.  Come on, the ex?  We’ve all dreaded and eye-rolled our way through those in romances.  I love that the author timed it well.  Mercy had to go through all that was in her past and grow solid with Adam as her mate and things with the pack, but she didn’t know how much she had grown, and neither did we, until she faces off against pretty, perfect, manipulating Christy with her eyes open, her brain switched on, and her mature, sterling character shining bright.  Of course, she’s jealous and hurt, and scared that Christy will take back what Mercy had to work hard to gain, but under these tired, knee-jerk responses to Christy’s antics she has a mate she shares deep love with, a step-daughter who is loyal and has the capacity to love and understand about things, and true friends who give her the support she needs.

Speaking of friends and support, Mercy finds more family in Gary Laughingdog.  I had forgotten so it was doubly neat to see Mercy’s first encounter with another coyote walker and how, so Mercy-like, she draws this beaten-down quirky soul into her circle.  They both are an interesting enough event to draw Coyote’s notice.

And, the villain of our piece is an interesting myth come to life from the Canary Islands.  Have I mentioned before just how much I adore Patricia Brigg’s way of expanding her world and making each twist and turn in the plot riveting because something or someone unexpected is around the bend?

This is also where Joel and Zach enter.  Aha.  I read them in the last few releases and couldn’t remember how they came to be part of the overall cast of characters.  And, Joel’s fate, does leave one intrigued for what is to come after this one.

Lorelei King can’t be stumped.  Whether it’s a German accented Fae, an Italian accented Vampire, or a fiery Hispanic Emergency Police Operator, she nails it.  So much more colorful and emotional getting this series on audio.

In summary, my re-listen left me laughing, crying, and sighing, but also swooning, startled, or smiling.  Night Broken had me completely entranced.  Onward I go further into Mercy Thompson’s world.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
24 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Berls
15 days ago

I agree with you 100% on pretty much every count! Lol! This was a reread for me too and I had forgotten how good it was. So much happens in this book that starts things in motion for future books. I also feel like this is the moment you’ll start to wish you’d read alpha and omega along with Mercy if you hadnt been – they’ve overlapped before this point, but now it starts to feel like it really matters. Great review!

Sophia Rose
15 days ago
Reply to  Berls

You guessed right, Berls! I really want to pause and catch up the A&O series right along with this one. 🙂 At least, I’ve read it the first time so I can’t sort of recall the storyline on them.

Jen
Jen
15 days ago

Now I totally forget what happens in this one. I do love this narrator and series! And I completely agree about “Readers should treat both the Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega series not separately” I tell all new to the series people the same thing. I wish I’d known when I read them.

Sophia Rose
15 days ago
Reply to  Jen

I started reading it and could not remember a blessed thing other than Christy was in it and there was some huge dogs. LOL It was good to get the refresher. 🙂
Yeah, I was lucky because the first time through I did actually read both series as they released so I was getting them the best way.

Sharonda
Sharonda
15 days ago

ah man, this review brings back my love for this series.
and like the ex? so tropey lols.
Great review as always Sophia!

Sophia Rose
15 days ago
Reply to  Sharonda

I know!!! My memory is so faulty on a lot of the storylines. It was great to get a refresher.
Yeah, the dreaded Ex, but I love the way she wrote it in Mercy’s story. 🙂

Sarah @ All The Book Blog Names Are Taken

I really liked when a reread is a good thing, like you said about you having forgotten some of the events. I much prefer it being a good experience than a negative one where I have loved a book, then reread some years later and wondered what the hell I was thinking the first time around. That is definitely no fun!

Sophia Rose
15 days ago

That is so true, Sarah. Sometimes it is risky to go back and read old favorites. I’ve had it happen where they lost all their sparkle and yeah, sometimes it’s just junk to me now. 🙁
Not with Mercy, though. These are sterling! 🙂

Sarah @ All The Book Blog Names Are Taken
Reply to  Sophia Rose

It is one of the reasons I have not revisited some books that I loved so much in my youth. I started re-reading Little Women a couple years ago and realized I needed to stop, otherwise things could have gone downhill rather quickly. I am still not sure why my opinion might have changed so much though, I love this book! I own multiple copies! Oi.

Sophia Rose
14 days ago

It would be doubly painful for a childhood classic like that. 🙁

Lover of Romance
15 days ago

Great review you have here. Every time you do a review of these books, it gets me so excited to check it out. I am planning on starting my Mercy journey very soon. Love how this author expands the world building in each installment. Shows true talent in an author to extend themselves in their writing in that way.

Sophia Rose
14 days ago

Are you really? I can’t wait to see what you think even if you end up feeling differently. 🙂

Lover of Romance
12 days ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

Yes, I have the first book on my kindle and plan on it next month.

Sophia Rose
11 days ago

I’m anticipating it for you. 🙂

Rachel
15 days ago

Yeah, you kind of should go back and forth with Alpha & Omega and Mercy because they do overlap. I just re-read this about a month or two ago, but I can’t remember what the overlap was here. I wanted to strangle Christy! I hate that woman! Also I wasn’t pleased that Adam didn’t make sure she didn’t get a hold of his phone again after the first time she answered it. What was up with that? Mercy handled things like a pro, though! I enjoyed the revelations that came from Gary Laughingdog, here too.

Sophia Rose
14 days ago
Reply to  Rachel

It’s Beauclaire the Graylord wanting the walking stick who was in Fair Game. His son did not receive justice in the human world so he was the one who pulled the fae out and declared war. 🙂
You know, I wondered why his phone was out of his personal possession so much, too. Not like she’s answering the house landline. 🙁 Mercy showed her up so good though. 🙂

Carole Rae
15 days ago

I adore Mercy 🙂

Sophia Rose
14 days ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

Mercy!!!

Karen Alderman
13 days ago

I’m not caught up on the series but I remember everyone hating this one because of the ex lol

It was interesting to hear your take on it and thinking she put a good twist on the trope.

<a href=”www.fwiwreviews.net”>Karen @ For What It’s Worth </a>

Sophia Rose
12 days ago
Reply to  Karen Alderman

Ha, yeah, no matter what trope it is even the earlier love triangle, it’s just not handled in the usual way which is a good thing. The Ex was more nuisance and Mercy eventually gets her good. I had a blast. Fun that you’re doing the series too, Karen!

Nadene
13 days ago

This one of the series I plan to start soon and reading your reviews has gotten me all excited.

Sophia Rose
12 days ago
Reply to  Nadene

Woohoo! It will be fun to see what you think, Nadene.

Lola
2 days ago

Sounds like this is one of those series that stays awesome even later on. And I love it when the narrator can add an extra dimension to the book like that. I might pick up these series eventually. Great review!

Sophia Rose
21 hours ago
Reply to  Lola

It is exactly that, Lola. It’s been fun doing audio as my re-read. 🙂