Review: Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen

Posted March 16, 2020 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 30 Comments

Tags: , , , ,

Review: Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen
Rookie Move

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames


Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #1
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance
Published by Berkley
Released on September 6, 2016
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Giveaway
add to goodreads

The Delight

It’s been a few years, but I’m back for more of Sarina Bowen and more from her sexy hot hockey team, The Brooklyn Bruisers, fighting as hard for their happily ever afters as they do wins on the ice.

Review

Leo was riding high in high school with Georgia at his side until she dumped him and left.  He has gone on for the last six years putting his all into his career even while constantly feeling the hole Georgia left that no other woman can fill.  It’s a crucial time that as the rookie on a new team with a coach who doesn’t like him that he prove himself and then he gets the stunner of his life when he meets the team PR gal and it’s Georgia.  Leo wants answers about why she dumped him, but most of all, he wants Georgia and he’s not letting her push him away no matter how often she tries.

Georgia never forgot Leo’s love even through the hard times after she cut things off with him.  But things are different now and he has no part in it.  She’s career-focused and he’s one of her dad’s players.  That is it.  Too bad Leo didn’t get the memo and neither did her heart deep down under all the ice she has layered over it.

I’m actually no stranger to this series, but I started with book two and read a couple out of order.  I got busy with other books, but a chance giveaway win put it back on my radar.  I have to confess that I was wary of reading this one.  The author’s writing and the way she puts so much into her characters and the relationships has always pulled me in.  I also love how much attention she gives the sports element in her stories when they are sports romances.  So good!  And, the author didn’t disappoint with any of these things.

That said, I was right to be wary.  I can’t say that I completely bought what Georgia was selling- that is I struggled with Georgia’s reasoning behind destroying what she had with Leo and I really struggled with the amount of time she spent in the current situation pushing him away.  At first, I had no liking for her the way she was acting like Leo was the one who broke her heart.  I could sympathize with her and no one should have to go through what she did, but I felt innocent, good and sweet Leo was the one paying the price.  That didn’t go over well with me and made me struggle with the romance for the longest time.

The shining light who dazzled and warmed me was Leo.  Gah, what a fabulous hero.  I understand he was a side character in her earlier Ivy Years series.  He wasn’t perfect, but he was just a good guy and I really wanted him to get what he wanted with Georgia and in his career.  He worked so hard and was so patient with her.  They had external as well as internal struggles to overcome and they did.  This pair was hot enough to melt the ice together.  Whew boy, were they sizzling!  Some authors really get how to write sexy scenes.

Rookie Move reminded me what I loved about this series and that I have several left to read.  The sports element was a strong presence and that is the way I like it.  Both of the characters worked in the hockey world and the game as well as the business of the team was front and center.

After a rocky start, I had a fab time with this book and highly recommend it and the whole series for those who enjoy spicy hot sports romance with some amazing characters.

Challenges Met

Literary Pickers #52 Second Chance Romance
Romance BINGO #18 sports romance
Books N Tunes #10 Shinedown’s Second Chance

Preview

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
30 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Melliane
2 months ago

It’s an author I really need to try

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  Melliane

Most definitely, Melliane!

Lorna
Lorna
2 months ago

I enjoyed this one too but it’s been just long enough that I don’t remember details. I remember what happened to her but not exactly the why she broke off with Leo. I think I have 1 or 2 left to read in this series. Glad you liked it too! She’s definitely a favorite author for me.

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  Lorna

I’ve read about half this series and I want to read the rest. I want to get to her college ones, too, now that I know Leo showed up in those.

sherry fundin
2 months ago

i don’t think i’ve read any of her work…yet, but i have heard good things
sherry @ fundinmental

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  sherry fundin

It will be fun to see what you think if you get the chance to pick up one of her books, Sherry. 🙂

Nadene
2 months ago

I have heard about the author, but I have not had the opportunity to read her work, I am glad you are enjoying the series. I love sports romance, but I have not been reading a lot of them. I need to change that.

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  Nadene

She is definitely an author you want to pick up since you like sports romances. She doesn’t stint on the sports part, but still gives a great sizzling hot character-driven romance with it.

Sam@wlabb
2 months ago

I remember really liking this book. I knew about their past from The Fifteenth Minute, and I wanted them to right that wrong. I am sap and a sucker for a second chance romance. I was all over this

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  Sam@wlabb

Yeah, I wan to go back and read that earlier series now that I know Leo was in that one. I took a bit to get into this one, but yes this was a hard-fought great 2nd chance. 🙂

Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer

Interesting. This is an author I want to try. I actually have an audiobook by her…so soon.

Sophia Rose
2 months ago

Oh yes, I agree. You need some Sarina Bowen in your life. 🙂

Anne - Books of My Heart

I listened to this one from the library as part of my February sports romance feature. Leo was awesome.
I think they were both young and didn’t handle it great in high school. They didn’t talk and he didn’t fight for her. But I agree with you about not liking the way she wouldn’t talk to him now. Fantastic review!

Sophia Rose
2 months ago

Yeah, you’re right about the being young and in over their heads. I should cut her a bit of slack for that. I think I was influenced by how she was behaving in the present. LOL

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
2 months ago

I’ve read other hockey romance and enjoyed it thanks for putting this on my radar Sophia Rose

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Sure thing, Debbie! She does great with the sports side as much as the romance. 🙂

Mary Kirkland
2 months ago

It’s good that it got better after a rocky start.

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Yes, I was not into that heroine for the longest time, but by the end I was all in. 🙂

Jen
Jen
2 months ago

Thanks for the review… I haven’t tried this series, but I’ve read the author before. I really like her writing!

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  Jen

I’ve jumped around with this series, but I love each one for the unique romance situations and different aspects of hockey and sports she brings out. You’d probably love these, Jen. 🙂

Rachel @Waves of Fiction

Yeah, I didn’t get why Georgia pushed him away, but when you’re in an emotional situation sometimes it’s not easy to think straight. I adored Leo though! I’m always a sucker for a second chance romance too, so I was happy they finally got their chance. 🙂

Sophia Rose
2 months ago

She really needed to get out of her own way and I was glad Leo was there to keep me reading until she did. 🙂 I was smiling so big when they finally got there.

Carole Rae
2 months ago

Love hockey stories! I think that is really the only sports romance I like.

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

Bowen puts a lot of hockey on ice and behind the scenes into these books so you’d probably get a kick out of them, Carole. 🙂

Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

I’ve enjoyed some of Sarina Bowen’s books, but haven’t read this series. Leo sounds wonderful, and I would be frustrated and not happy with how Georgia was treating him either. I love sexy and sizzling scenes, and this one sounds like she delivered! Great Review Sophia 🙂

Sophia Rose
2 months ago

Yeah, I could see it when she was a teen, but the hoops she put him through as an adult were frustrating. I do love her books, too. 🙂

Lola
2 months ago

I can see why you struggled with the romance a bit in this one, but Leo sounds like a great hero. And the way the sports element in handled sounds great too. I’ve only read one book by this author so far, but definitely plan to read more.

Sophia Rose
2 months ago
Reply to  Lola

Yeah, she held her issues for way too long especially since he wasn’t the one who wronged her. But, that said, I do enjoy this book and series so much. Hope you get to keep going with her books, Lola. 🙂

Lover of Romance
2 months ago

I had such a blast with this book and I am happy to see you enjoyed this one as well. I struggled with the heroine at times too, but eventually, I was won over in the end.

Great review Sophia!

Sophia Rose
2 months ago

Yeah, the last quarter was pretty spectacular. 🙂