Review: Sweet Tea and Spirits by Angie Fox

Posted May 11, 2017 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 32 Comments

Tags:

Review: Sweet Tea and Spirits by Angie Fox
Sweet Tea and Spirits

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
two-flames


Genres: Romantic Suspense
Published by Moose Island Books
Released on 22 April 2017
Pages: 248
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
add to goodreads


The Delight

Another ghostly case with my favorite Southern gal and her gangster ghost associate snooping around at the old historical museum trying to solve a murder, a ghost problem, and their separate relationship issues.  Let me just get my hot cuppa and cozy into my favorite comfy spot.


Review

Sweet Tea and Spirits is the fifth installment of the Southern Ghost Hunter series.  They can be read standalone, but work best in order to follow the relationships and situations that are ongoing with the series.

The first scene had my right back in the world of this series.  The humor displayed through Frankie’s antics, as even in the afterlife, he’s just doing what a gangster will do, and Verity’s sweet southern gal persona appalled at her resident ghost and more appalled that her boyfriend Ellis wants her to do a meet the family because they are getting serious.

But then things are off to the races when Verity gets another case from the president of the historical society shortly before the lady is murdered and only Verity knows its murder because she gets a ghostly prompt that tells her.

I enjoy this blend of light-hearted and mystery with some moderate chills and humorous moments.  By now, Verity is hitting her stride accepting her role as ghost hunter in the community even though some folks think she’s nuts, but also moving on from the fiasco of leaving her cheating ex at the altar and dealing with the aftermath since he’s from one of the most influential and prestigious family’s in town- and hsst, Verity is not in a deepening relationship with his older brother.

Now, the tone of the book may be light, but the mysteries are actually rather clever.  Some elements are easy to figure out, but then there’s the twist and the surprise is fun.  In this case, I had the murder figured out, but it was the ghostly situation that had the impressive twist.  Very clever…

And I did enjoy that ghostly Frankie got a bit of romancing in with a pretty ghost.

All in all, these are fun, light distractions and I look forward to each new installment.  Cozy Mystery fans who don’t mind some paranormal and romance are probably the best match for this series.


Challenges

Romance Roundabout #116
My New Release #64


Recommendations

  Review First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones


Need a sweet Preview?

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
32 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Cindy Servatt
3 years ago

This book looks good to me. I love these type of mystery series. Great review and I am putting this series on my to read list. Thanks for sharing!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Cindy Servatt

You bet, Cindy. Just so you know, the first book is free for Kindle. 🙂

Cyn @ Bookmunchies
3 years ago

Oh this sounds like such a cute read! I love that she’s got a pet skunk and that it’s in the south and there’s gangster ghosts! You definitely have me intrigued! Glad you enjoyed this, lovely review Sophia Rose!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

It’s so quirky and fun, Cyn. I’ve really come to anticipate each release. I need to try her demon hunting series which hopefully has the same quirkiness. 🙂

AngieElle @ Ba_BAMB
3 years ago

I have never read a cozy mystery, but it is something I want to remedy. And this author has a fabulous first name! 😉

Great review.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

LOL, yes, you can’t go wrong with this Angie. 🙂 This series is my first cozy mystery attempt and it’s been great.

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
3 years ago

Thanks for the great review Sophia Rose this series is on my wish list and the author is one of my friends, a local and a favorite too!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Well worth it, Debbie. Oh neat, that you already know the author. Her books are fun. First one in the series is a freebie… 😉

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
3 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

oh wow thanks just nabbed the freebie and added the audible for 1.99 cha ching! 🙂

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Super Cool! That’s exactly what I did. I love the narrator.

Sharonda
3 years ago

A gangster ghost? mmmmmm, worth looking into 😉 Great review Sophia

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Sharonda

I know, Sharonda. What a hoot, right?

Book one is free if you are interested. 🙂

Sharonda
3 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

Thanks Sophia! I’m gonna check it out

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Sharonda

You bet, and her first Demon Hunter is free, too, if you’d rather try that series. I still want to read those, too.

Sharonda
3 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

awesome! thanks again <3

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Sharonda

🙂

Lampshade Reader~Aleen

Sounds like my kind of read! Love mysteries. ~Aleen

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

You bet, Aleen. These are fun. 🙂

kimbacaffeinate
3 years ago

I like that the mysteries are clever Sophia. I have been listening to cozy series which I share this month (maybe June, I cannot remember when its scheduled..lol) If this is similar I know I will love it.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

Oh really… I’ll have to watch for those. Lola got me curious to try cozies finally so I’ve got a few this year and hope to branch out to a few more. I definitely love these for both the ghost antics and the murder, but also I’m a sucker for small town quirkiness. 🙂

Mary Kirkland
3 years ago

That sounds good and the cover is really cute.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

They are great fun, Mary. I think each cover is cute and neat how it reflects something of what the story is about.

Melliane
3 years ago

It’s nice to see that for a light novel you have a good mystery too! I heard about the author and I think I have 1 book or 2 but haven’t read any

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Melliane

Yes, you’re right, Melliane. That light humor balanced with the mystery is a good part.

Hope you get to try the ones on your pile soon. 🙂

Carole's Random Life
3 years ago

I really need to get back to this series. I liked the first one and it looks like the series is still going strong. Great review!

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

Yes, it is still going strong. I’ve had a good time with each story. The characters and the ghostly situations are great.

Anna@herding cats&burning soup

That sounds like such a good time, Sophia! I do like a good murder mystery now and again 🙂

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

These really are exactly that, Anna. Great distractions to push the cares away. 🙂

Melanie Simmons
3 years ago

I love Angie Fox. I haven’t tried this series, but I love her Demon Slayer series. I hope to start this one sometime soon. It has a narrator that I love.

Melanie @ Hot Listens & Rabid Reads

Sophia Rose
3 years ago

We’re the opposites. I love this one and the narrator and I’m eager to try her Demon Slayer books. 🙂

Debra
Debra
3 years ago

Thanks for the review. This series has been in my TBR for a little while and I am looking forward to starting it after being a little aprehensive by not knowing what to expect. Your review has helped make up my mind to start it.

Sophia Rose
3 years ago
Reply to  Debra

Oh neat! Glad I could help you with your decision about the series. Makes it more than worth it to share my thoughts, Debra. Hope you enjoy the series when you get the chance. 🙂