Review: The Trouble With Twelfth Grave by Darynda Jones

Posted November 6, 2017 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 28 Comments

Tags: , , ,

Review: The Trouble With Twelfth Grave by Darynda Jones
The Trouble With Twelfth Grave

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames


Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by St. Martin's Press
Released on October 31, 2017
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
add to goodreads


The Delight

Things were left in a rather ticklish spot at the end of Eleventh Grave so I fairly pounced when Twelfth Grave came available.  The Charley Davidson series continues to charm, wow, and crack me up even a dozen books in.


Review

The Trouble With Twelfth Grave is the latest in this cackle-inducing, pulse-pounding urban fantasy featuring a goddess-grim reaper and her badder than the baddest son of Satan husband and the rest of her gang of misfits.  This series is meant to be read in order and really makes the best sense that way especially now that the series plot has gotten so complex with the reveals and world building.

The book opens pretty much where the last one left off.  Reyes is back, but he’s different.  Someone’s killing people in horrific and mysterious ways.  The Catholic church along with the angels of heaven are watching Charley like a hawk.  Amber and Quentin are starting their own amateur investigation firm.  Cooky and Ubie support Charley as always.  Officer Taft is still missing and Charley?  Well Charley hasn’t slept in days because a certain sultry dark god keeps invading her dreams while evading her traps.

So much is going on and the stakes are higher, but I appreciate how the author stays true to the roots of the series when it comes to what makes Charley a fantastic heroine and the plots into page-turners.  There is all the world in trouble stuff, but also murder mysteries and seeming unrelated troubles for Charley to work out.  The banter is witty and several times had me snorting or laughing aloud.

And oh yes, we did manage to end on a shocking cliffie.  Stay tuned for Thirteenth Grave.

An abso-fab blend of humor, mystery, passion, and paranormal all in a powerhouse urban fantasy series.  Don’t miss it, UF fans!

I rec’d this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.


Challenges

Romance Roundabout #274 UF
New Release #160


Recommendations

 Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews 
0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
28 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Melliane
2 years ago

I really had a good time with this one as well. I’m so curious and sad to have the last book now

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Melliane

Yes, the cliffie ending and the shadow of it all coming to an end are making me crazy and dreading 13th grave. 🙂

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
2 years ago

Oh Man I need to get book three 😉 Thanks Sophia Rose

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

You really, really, really do, Debbie. Lots of laughs and excitement for you. 🙂

Karen
Karen
2 years ago

I’m soooooo far behind! lol

For What It’s Worth

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Karen

I would crow about being caught up, but I have so many series that I’m dreadfully behind, too, Karen. 🙂

LilyElement
2 years ago

That cliffhanger had me going noooooooooo I WANT THE NEXT ONE NOW hahaha Hope we don’t have to wait too long 😛

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  LilyElement

Me, too! I think I might have growled at the last page. LOL

Mary Kirkland
2 years ago

I’ve been hearing really good things about this one but I haven’t read it yet.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

The rumors are not exaggerated, Mary. You’re in for a treat. 🙂

Nadene@Ttly addicted 2 reading

All the reviews I read so far have been great. I really need to start this series.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

For sure, Nadene. But prepared to get addicted. 😉

Lily B
2 years ago

I skimmed it cause I am a bit behind, I want to catch up with this series sometimes this winter

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Lily B

Hey, that’s a great goal, Lily. Charley, Reyes and the gang will keep you warm and laughing. 🙂

Carole's Random Life
2 years ago

I have got to get started on this series! I am seeing so many 5 star reviews for this one. Glad you enjoyed it!

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

Oh man, Carole. These are a hoot. I can’t wait to get your reaction since I’m pretty sure you’ll get a kick out of these. 🙂

Nasreen Jahan
2 years ago

Sounds like a great series! All the reviews are good for it.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Nasreen Jahan

It most certainly is a good one, Nasreen. Hope you get the chance some time. 🙂

Melanie Simmons
2 years ago

I can’t believe there is only one more book. *sobs* Great review.

Melanie @ Hot Listens & Rabid Reads

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

That has me really tasting the bittersweet, but thankfully we have Beep’s series to look forward. 🙂

Lover Of Romance
2 years ago

I am waiting till I have all the books in the series before I start because I don’t like cliffies at all. Great review darling.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

I don’t blame you for having that strategy, Renee. It has been with great impatience a few times that I waited for the next installment.

You betcha! 🙂

Kimberly Caffeinated Reviewer

I love this series so hard. I am not ready to let go 🙁

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

For real. We’ll probably all form a reader group for depressed Grimlin fans until Beeps series comes out. 🙂

Lola
2 years ago

I heard a lot of great things about this series, but haven’t read it myself. It’s great when a series keeps going strong and the author stays true to the characters. It seems there’s a lot going on in this one and after that cliffhanger ending you’re probably looking forward to the next book.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Lola

It has definitely been a fun series from start to finish. One more book and then it’s over. ): But yes, each one with the cliffhangers has kept me in high anticipation for the next one.

Tanya @ Reading Addict

I am going to be sad to see the series end, but that cliffhanger has me dying to get to thirteen already! I didn’t know Beep was getting a series. Kind of like the Chicagoland Vampires where Merit & Ethan’s baby is getting her own series too. It’s going to be weird to see my favorite characters in parental roles instead of front and center.

Sophia Rose
2 years ago

It’s been such a pick me up each year to get the new release and tear through it. I’ll miss it too, Tanya. Oh yes, from what I’ve heard, we’re getting a sub-series about Beep. 🙂