Review: Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

Posted January 19, 2020 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 36 Comments

Tags: , , ,

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Tweet Cute by Emma Lord
Tweet Cute

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
one-flame


Genres: YA Contemporary Romance
Published by Wednesday Books
Released on Janurary 21, 2020
Pages: 362
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
add to goodreads


The Delight

A public Twitter war, big business vs. small, a private on-line friendship, and coming of age made for a sparkling, heartfelt teenage rom com that I was delighted to delve into.


Review

Tweet Cute begins by introducing zealous Pepper who is in a frenzy to be at the top of her game at the uptown private school she attends, perform a balancing act to keep her broken family connected by the slender ties that is her, and meeting up to her mom’s expectation to help with her business’ social media accounts.  Pepper’s moment of sanity is the Weazel app where she has an online friend who really gets her.  That friendship becomes more crucial as a Twitter war takes off when a small mom and pop deli claims her mom’s franchise boosted their original grilled cheese sandwich recipe.  When she finally meets ‘Wolf’ in real life will he live up to her hopes?

Jack is the school’s goof off.  It’s self defense to yuck it up and pretend not to care because his identical twin has already cornered the market on president of the class, cool-crowd king, and most popular.  People only get excited about him when they mistake him for his twin.  No one knows he came up with the Weazel app and only one person at school ever really sees Jack instead of just his brother’s twin except Pepper Evans- this is why he likes to tweak her tail and make her pay attention again.  He started a Twitter war that has blown up their family deli’s following and now he can only ride out this wave as well as what is to come when Pepper learns who Wolf is.

I adored the “You’ve Got Mail’ movie and I was tickled to see the similarities even the fun gender swap of Jack representing the small business and Pepper the larger though she is also from humbler roots and remembers the struggles of her family-owned mom and pop.  It dives into their stories swiftly in a dual narration which I was glad to have so I could get to know them both and their perspectives.  It sometimes goes alternate chapter, but will also stick with one for a time to finish a thought before swapping back which I thought was much easier to keep my focus.  It kept moving and read easily and quickly.

There are real life issues from teen struggles, family splits, finding one’s self, and more going on, but it is all surrounded by heartwarming and many times hilarious scenes.  Both teens have wry humor and I felt my age a few times with the fresh and up to the minute thinking and dialogue of this story set against the modern teen life and school scene.  I found some of it a bit unreal particularly the mom and the big burger corporation dependent on snarky Pepper to save the day on Twitter and even the mom’s expectations and actions, but it was only a minor distraction.

Pepper and Jack (and oh my was I thinking Pepperjack cheese the whole time with the whole grilled cheese sandwich war) had great chemistry as hostile acquaintances in real life and adorable friendly first romance in Weazel.  They’re both engaging and I enjoyed that they had a lot in common where it counted and saw importance in the same things.

The surrounding circle of family and school group played their roles and I liked seeing Pepper and Jack interact with all in their circle of relationships.  There were conflicts and the big reveal to keep up the tension, but it was relatively low-angst and had a sweet, heartwarming quality that made it easy to read.

All in all, I enjoyed this one and hope the author has more coming really soon.  YA Contemporary isn’t my go-to genre, but I thought this one was abso-fab and can recommend it to mid teens on up to teens at heart.

My thanks to St. Martin’s Press for providing the eARC to read in exchange of an honest review.


Challenges Met

New Release #1
COYER Winter Friends #25
Literary Pickers #5 public transportation
Reading Assignment #1 Professor Mix Up
Romance BINGO #3 YA
Books N Tunes #2 Mark Ronson’s Uptown Funk

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
36 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
RO P
8 months ago

Girl, Bruno Mars got me to get up from the computer and dance, dance, dance! If you don’t believe me just watch!(lol) Great way to start off Sunday morning, and I thank you. I’m not sure if I would grab the book because the title is pretty fascinating, but it just shows me how much life has changed from back in the day.(lol) Hugs, RO

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  RO P

Woohoo, let’s boogie! I can’t hold still when this song comes on either. 😉

Yeah, this one definitely makes me feel like an old fogie, too. But, it was a cutie at least.

Sam@wlabb
8 months ago

You mention it being low angst, and I think that’s another reason I loved this one so much. I don’t mind some drama, but too much angst makes me nuts. This was such a gem for me. I adored every second I spent with #PepperJack

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Sam@wlabb

I’m not fond of out of control drama, either. I kept expecting it to go there because of all that was between them, especially that app, but it was reasonable instead. Definite gem, Sam! 🙂

Lola
8 months ago

This sounds like a great read. I just read another review for this one as well and now I am quite curious about this one. It sounds interesting with how they meet online and don’t know who the other is as well as the whole twitter thing. I like the sound of how it deals with a variety of real life issues as well. Good to know it’s relatively low on the angst as well. Great review!

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Lola

I have a feeling it will be adored by many. Yes, the on-line romance was definitely one of the funnest parts.

Mary Kirkland
8 months ago

This sounds cute. I loved that “You’ve Got Mail” movie and I spend a lot of time on Twitter so it’s nice to see that used.

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

It definitely gave that movie a run for its money- so adorable! Oh man, the tweets these two exchange were a riot.

Anne - Books of My Heart

This one sounds so good. I’d like to try it on audio from what I have seen in reviews. I’m surprised because I am not usually wanting to read about high school students. But I love business aspects so this is appealing.

Sophia Rose
8 months ago

Oh man, the back and forth bantering even online would probably be good on audio. They don’t get really angsty so I think adults who don’t normally get into YA books would enjoy this one, too.

Melliane
8 months ago

The cover the cute and the story looks good too!

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Melliane

I love that cover and it matches the tone of the story perfectly.

Carole's Random Life in Books

I have only seen You’ve Got Mail one time years ago so I didn’t even catch that this had any kind of similarities. I really enjoyed Pepper and Jack’s story and am glad that you did as well. Great review!

Sophia Rose
8 months ago

I love the movie so I seem to see it everywhere and this one with its hidden on-line romance and the two businesses fighting got me thrilled. 🙂

Rachel @Waves of Fiction

YA Contemporary isn’t my go-to either, but there are a couple of authors I make an exception for. This sounds super cute! I was totally reminded of You’ve Got Mail when I read another review of this story, and it’s one of my all-time favorite rom-coms! I definitely want to give this a shot. 🙂

Sophia Rose
8 months ago

Same here! Had to make the exception when I saw the blurb and the similarities to the movie. 🙂 Hope you enjoy it if you get the chance, Rachel!

Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

This sounds like a great story! I love when we get alternating points of view from the main characters. The low angst, wry humor, and You’ve Got Mail similarities make this a book I would like to read! Wonderful Review Sophia 🙂

Sophia Rose
8 months ago

Having both POVs was a must for me with all the stuff going on behind the scenes and understanding where they were both coming from. Oh yes, it was an adorable one that I think you’d like, Lindy. 🙂

Angie Elle
8 months ago

So glad to see how much you enjoyed this one, Sophia! It really was such a fun story. I couldn’t put it down!

Great review. 🙂

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Angie Elle

I think I read it in two sittings. I didn’t want to put it down, either, Angie. 🙂

Nadene
8 months ago

This sounds cute. I didn’t realize it was a young adult story

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Nadene

It sure was. Oh yes, all the joys of high school and figuring out the teen years was there without getting too messy. 🙂

Lover of Romance
8 months ago

I really just love the “You’ve Got Mail” type of retelling and I am so thrilled that you enjoyed this cute YA contemporary.

Lovely review darling.

Sophia Rose
8 months ago

It’s one of my favorites, too, Renee. I get excited whenever I see a story that seems familiar. Thanks!

Jenea's Book Obsession
8 months ago

I love the sounds of this one and I can’t wait to be able to read it!

Sophia Rose
8 months ago

It’s a real peach, Jenea. I think you’d love it.

Jen
Jen
8 months ago

I’m not a big YA fan, but this does sound cute. The Pepper – Jack thing now has me hunger for grilled cheese! Thanks for the review.

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Jen

I think it will tempt a few to cross over into YA territory. Yes, the names and that Twitter war over the recipe had me salivating. 😉

Carole Rae
8 months ago

YA Contemporary isn’t my go-to genre either but this does sound pretty good.

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Carole Rae

It is a serious temptation to push the usual reading limits. 🙂

Debbie Haupt
Debbie Haupt
8 months ago

I’ve got mail is exactly what came to mind for me too by your descriptions Sophia Rose, I’m not much on YA but this sounds sophisticated enough for me. Thanks!

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Debbie Haupt

Yes, it was a fun one that wasn’t exactly a remake, but did have some strong similar bits. Very tempting, Debbie! 🙂

Lorna
Lorna
8 months ago

I’ve probably seen You Got Mail 30 times-easily. It’s one that you can jump into at any point in the movie and still enjoy. So yes, this book sounds like a really cute read. I love low angst in a teen book as well! Glad you enjoyed it.

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  Lorna

Yes, you must read it if you love You Got Mail, Lorna. 🙂

vvb
vvb
8 months ago

Sounds like a super cute read and love the song pair up 🙂

Sophia Rose
8 months ago
Reply to  vvb

It really was. Yes, just had to put these two together for a book n tune. 🙂