When An Alpha Purrs by Eve Langlais #Review

Posted August 19, 2015 by Sophia Rose in Reviews / 30 Comments

Tags: , , ,

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

When An Alpha Purrs by Eve Langlais #Review
When An Alpha Purrs

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Series: #1 Lions Pride
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Published by Indie/Self Published
Released on June 4, 2015
Pages: 188
Format: eBook
Source: Author
add to goodreads

An alpha lion shifter and lord of the largest pride on the East Coast gets anything he wants until he encounters the sassy, stubborn human female who takes a chunk out of his hair. Her first mistake was running from him and he isn’t about to let her make that mistake again.

Arik knows his duty is toward strengthening his pride by mating with another cat shifter, but all that goes out the window when a certain human woman enters his life and turns it upside down. She challenges him which peeks his interest, but then his protective instincts kick in when her stalker ex threatens her. He will find a way to make it work even if he has to lock her in his loft until she sees reason.

This story starts off with a humorous opening scene and retains that flirty feel throughout the story. The hero is arrogant, confident, and alpha through and through which strikes the heroine as sexy even while she knows it should annoy her. The heroine is stubborn and gets snarky when she feels cornered so she’s a good match for the pushy lion king and keeps him on his toes. The back and forth hot attraction and playful snark make it fun. The story isn’t strongly developed and clips along pretty fast, but it is still a light entertaining read and a good intro to a new series.

All in all, I had a good time with this fun piece and would definitely recommend it to lovers of paranormal romantic comedy.

My thanks for a chance to read this one in exchange for an honest review.

Romance Roundabout #268 PNR

New to Me #133 series

Cliché Klatch #158 ‘The old ball and chain’

Curvy Woman #14

About Eve Langlais

~ New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

Hello, my name is Eve and I am a Canadian author who loves to write hot romance, usually with werewolves, cyborgs or aliens.

I should warn you that I possess a twisted imagination and a sarcastic sense of humor something I like to let loose in my writing. I enjoy strong alpha males, and shifters. Lots of big, overprotective shifters. I am also extremely partial to aliens, the kind who like to abduct humans and then drive them insane…with pleasure. Do you like something a little darker? Then check out my cyborgs whose battle with humanity have captivated readers worldwide.

I love to write, and while I don’t always know what my mind is going to come up with next, I can promise it will be fun, probably humorous and most of all romantic, because I love a happily ever after.

Thanks so much for coming by and checking me out. If you’d like to know more, read some excerpts or find out what’s coming next, then please visit me at http://www.EveLanglais.com

Or sign up for my new release email list at
http://www.evelanglais.com/newrelease

Happy reading!
Eve Langlais

0 0 vote
Article Rating
The following two tabs change content below.
I was born and raised near Sacramento, CA. I have read since I was four years old and developed tastes that run the gamut of literature. I went away to college and have a degree in education, a certificate in family history research, and a certificate in social work. I worked for a non-profit agency with low income families for 20 years which included being responsible for the children’s library and promoting/teaching adult literacy. I have lived in Southeast Michigan for the last 18 years and I am currently a book addicted homemaker with a cat and husband who keep me grounded. Recently, I made it a challenge to review each book that I have read as a favor to author friends who said reviews are important. I have done reviews for Good Reads, Amazon, eBay, and Smashwords, but mostly at Goodreads and Amazon.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
30 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Melanie Simmons
4 years ago

I enjoyed this story. I just finished book two. It isn’t as laugh out loud funny as some of her other series, but still very fun. Great review.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

I need to catch up and get to book two and three b/c I see book four is coming out. It was definitely fun to read this one.

Lola
4 years ago

I like the idea of Lion Shifters, I don’t think I have read any lion shifter books so far. Although the male sounds a bit too stubbornly alpha male for my taste. This sounds like a fun paranormal romance!

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Lola

He was pretty stuck on himself, but don’t worry, she knocked him down a peg or two. I thought the lion shifter aspect was a fun part.

Keionda Hearts Books
4 years ago

I love the snarky heroine and the fun banter. (Are you remunder of Lux too?) Teehee I’m obsessed with the whole ‘strong and stubborn hero’ and the ‘sarcastic and witty’ heroine ever since that series! So glad you loved this girl! Happy week and God bless!♡

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

Oh yes, I’m a Lux fan, too. This gal definitely gave him as good as she got when he got all arrogant on her. Too fun!

Braine TS
4 years ago

I think I’m due for another Langlais. I’m in the mood to read something funny

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Braine TS

I know what you mean. I have to pick one of her books up ever so often just for the feeling it gives me.

Red Iza
4 years ago

Looks like a fun read, but I’ll be catching up on the 5 or 6 books by Eve Langlais I already own before I tackle that one 😉

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Red Iza

LOL! She is so prolific that it’s hard to keep up. At least they are fast and funny. 😉

Red Iza
4 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

Oh yes, when I want a fun, enjoyable read, I always think of her 😉

Red Iza
4 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

Oh yes, when I want a fun, enjoyable read, I always think of her 😉

Sarah @ One Curvy Blogger

Langlais is the awesomest author when I wants snark, furry, and sexy 😀 I need to pick this one up!

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

So true, Sarah! I enjoy all her creatures and started with her purple aliens. I laughed so hard and had to keep reading her books.

Mary Kirkland
4 years ago

I really do love all the different shifter romance stories that are available right now. I haven’t read this author in a while so I might have to give this one a go.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Mary Kirkland

Me too! It’s fun whether they are traditional werewolf or get unique like this lion shifter series.

Kristin @ My ParaHangover

I’m not sure if it’s this one or not but I picked up two of her books at RAGT ad I REALLY need to get to them!!! Especially if they’re funny!!! I love PNR with romance – anything to put an alpha in his place 😉

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

Lucky you to catch RAGT! It might very well have been this one since it released near that time. These are definitely humor-filled so I hope you enjoy them when you try them, Kristin.

Sharonda
4 years ago

I really need to read her books and I know I say that every time I read one of your reviews but I really do, lols. Fun and Sexxy is always good!

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Sharonda

That’s okay! It’s crazy busy with all the new books that come out each week. I have several that I see good reviews and tell myself I need to read them, but still they wait. 😉

Sharonda
4 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

very true Sophia 😉

Sharonda
4 years ago
Reply to  Sophia Rose

very true Sophia 😉

kimbacaffeinate
4 years ago

I like romantic comedy and will keep an eye on this series.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

Her stories are full of hilarity. I love them when I need a little pick me up.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

Her stories are full of hilarity. I love them when I need a little pick me up.

Lover Of Romance
4 years ago

I just loved the interaction, and the beginning scene with the chase was just awesome. I laughed so much during this one.

Sophia Rose
4 years ago

They are such good pick me ups with all the humor and witty interaction.

Braine TS
4 years ago

I think I’m due for another Langlais. I’m in the mood to read something funny

Sophia Rose
4 years ago
Reply to  Braine TS

I know what you mean. I have to pick one of her books up ever so often just for the feeling it gives me.

Lover Of Romance
4 years ago

I just loved the interaction, and the beginning scene with the chase was just awesome. I laughed so much during this one.